MRJT30
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 9, 2020

Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

My Bose 700's initialed worked great with my windows 10 VOIP for Teams, Skype, Webex, etc.  Now when I connect the Bose 700 to my windows 10 the sound (speakers) comes through perfectly, but the microphone doesn't even show up in the input list.

 

 
 

Bose not working.png

20 REPLIES 20
Tegan_M
Moderator

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

Hello MRJT30, 

 

Welcome to the community, thanks for reaching out. I am sorry that the microphone input no longer shows on your device.

 

I would firstly suggest that you reboot both your computer and your headphones. To reboot your headphones;

  • Disconnect all cables from your headphones
  • Connect the larger end of the USB charging cable to a wall charger or a computer that is powered on
  • On the headphones, press and hold the Power/Bluetooth® button while connecting the smaller end of the USB cable to the right earcup. The Power LED should quickly blink twice
  • Once connected, release the Power/Bluetooth button after two seconds.
    Tip: If the headphones are unresponsive after a reset, reset them a second time.

Do let us know if these resets provide any improvements. 

 

Kind regards,

Tegan M - Community Support

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out our Community Guidelines and How to use the Bose Community for helpful hints on getting started. And don't forget to check out our new and improved Community Ranks and Rewards!
Purushothaman.pitchandi
Participant
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

May 8, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

The Bose 700 Bluetooth headset is not listing under Input Device. The Audio Speaker works perfect, but the Mic does not gets configured in Windows 10

Crogle
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

May 29, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

Has there been a real solution to this problem offered yet? This canned answer that is offered first to every issue does not solve this problem and I am having it as well with brand new headphones

Wiggidy
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 10, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

I have the same issue - as of yesterday my laptop only permits use of the internal microphone.

In the Settings/Sound section my Bose700 shows up under Sound, but not Input.

In the Bluetooth and other Devices Section under Audio it shows as "Bose 700 - Connected Music", while under Other Devices it shows as "LE-Bose 700 (with a question mark in a black diamond)".

In the Sound Settings the Bose 700 shows up twice:

 First as "Headset - Bose 700 Hands-free - Disconnected", and

 Second as "Headphones - Bose 700 Stereo - Default Device" 

I have rebooted the laptop, uninstalled bluetooth drivers, rebooted headset multiple times, all in various orders, and all to no avail.

Keith_L
Community Manager

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

Hi All,

 

Thanks for posting and contributing to the discussion!

 

@Wiggidy, what you are seeing in the sound settings is likely the reason that you are unable to use the microphone with your laptop at the moment.

 

The two versions of the 700s you see, "Headset - Bose 700 Hands-free" and "Headphones - Bose 700 Stereo", are the two Bluetooth profiles the headphones can use.

 

The "Headphones" profile is the standard stereo profile they will use when listening to music. The "Hands-free" profile is the one you want to use while accessing the microphone as this profile is the one that enables the microphone. 

 

If you can in the sound settings select the Headset version of the headphones. This will allow you to use the microphone again.

 

If you are having trouble doing this, we do have an in-depth informational post on using Bluetooth devices with computers that I'm sure you will all find helpful!

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
LyK
Participant
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Aug 7, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

Here is a step by step of how I solved this problem

 

1. Open settings and go to "Sound"

2. From there, open the "Sound Control Panel" (See yellow arrow in first image below)

3. This will open the screen in the second image that I've included below. You will see that the headphones "Stereo" option is the selected default.

4. Click on the headphones option for "hands-free" and click the "set default" button at the bottom of the sound control panel (see yellow arrow on third image)

5. Then back on the sounds setting page, ensure that output is set to the "Stereo" option and input is set to the "hands-free" option.

 

 

Sound home.png

 

Sound settings 1.png

 

Sound settings 2.png

 

 

 

UserNamePrivacy
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Aug 25, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

I am having the same problem as the original post. No luck on the numerous times of reconnecting bluetooth. My device is (NC 700) is not showing up as a headset anymore on Windows 10, but it was previously. The options for headset are now greyed out and listed as "disconnected" even though it is connecting as headphones.

It was connected as a headset just yesterday. I have cleared the BT list, rebooted the headset, uninstalled and reinstalled the app, rebooted everything, but still no luck.

 

HELP!

Jessie_O
Moderator

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

Hey there! 

 

Welcome! 

 

I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing some issues with your NC700 headphones, I'll be happy to help in any way I can. 

 

Have you tried updating the firmware? You can do this by clicking the LINK HERE on a laptop or PC and following the on-screen instructions. One of our agents will be more than happy to help you! 

 

If there is anything else we can do, please reach out to us again! 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Deetle
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 21, 2020

Re: Bose 700 mic not showing up as input in windows 10

I was able to pair the headset , but I only get audio output , how do I get the audio input to work ?  See both my Bluetooth settings and Sound settings attached.   On the Bluetooth side  it does say voice and music.   But on the sound settings , their is not input device found. 

 

 

 

 

Bluetooth settings.PNGSound settings.PNG