iKarenSM
Quiet Contributor
Registered since

Jul 3, 2019

Re: Firmware 4.5.2 QC35 ii

You could send a screenshot or a link where you can verify that you have accepted this issue.

Thanks

joelirwin
Wistful Whiz
Registered since

Jun 15, 2018

@ANC 

I can't say for sure what's inside our units or how Bose 'sources' its hardware for these units so I can only speak in general from my interaction with hardware vendors while I worked technology issues for a very large oil company in the 80s and 90s - though things probably have not changed much in the last 20 years on the chip front.  Our QC35ii and pretty much anything electronic is a collection of specialized chips that are used together to provide a function - in our case generate sound waves.  My background is computer science (where I did my masters and phd work) and not electrical engineering but every chip you use has a purpose and the actions it performs is governed by a series of toggles and instructions (I am trying to stay very general and layman here... ).  So whatever that chip is supposed to do, for example, generate a sound wave at a particular frequency, is controlled by a controlling program (we call firmware) which tells it what to do.  The instructions and the results to expect are documented by the manufacturer.   We would hope that all units of a particular model have the exact same inventory of chips.  That may be the case here with our units - they are all exact/identical.  But 'hypothetically' and this has happened in my years of experience with technology hardware vendors, a chip is not available in the supply chain, or another manufacturer comes out with a chip which they claim to be identical to the one being used but less expensive.  In that case, the secondary chip is used and in a perfect world behaves identically ALL THE TIME as the original from the original manufacturer.  Again this is hypothetical and 99.99+ of the time this secondary chip behaves exactly the same as the original all t