mgrobins
Quiet Contributor
Registered since

Jul 10, 2019

Re: Firmware Downgrade QC35

THank you for taking time to provide such a detailed reply :).

THank you also for your Service and your comment to me - It's nice to be acknowledged.

@joelirwin wrote:

@mgrobins 

First of all as a fellow vet (AF 76-80), thank you for your service.  I do not work for Bose and I have had the QC35i and now have a QC35ii and I do not agree with all of what Bose says and it's policies.  But nonetheless, wanted to provide my 'reality check' view and guesses here on some of your comments:

stefanicai
Audible Advocate
Registered since

Jul 2, 2019

There's no need to put Dev resources to support uploading the old firmware (I've been writing software for 20 years). The only reason could be that people contacted support for issues already fixed in the last release and thus they wanted to make sure everyone has the latest release. But even that doesn't make sense as people can still stick to old versions and never update. I can't figure out a reason why they took away the previous firmware from the website.

starchild
Friendly Fanatic
Registered since

Mar 24, 2019

I find it very interesting that this happens just as Bose launches the 700 range.  Reeks of Apple batterygate.  ANC is nothing like it used to be since the update.

Serj
Strident Supporter
Registered since

Jun 27, 2019

@stefanicai wrote:

There's no need to put Dev resources to support uploading the old firmware (I've been writing software for 20 years). The only reason could be that people contacted support for issues already fixed in the last release and thus they wanted to make sure everyone has the latest release. But even that doesn't make sense as people can still stick to old versions and never update. I can't figure out a reason why they took away the previous firmware from the website.