QC 35-I is Turning On By Itself

SOLVED
Strident Supporter

Re: QC 35-I is Turning On By Itself

good data.  i am not an engineer or work for Bose, but if the contacts for the switch are sliding, what you are describing is still consistent with that assumption since they would have turned the phone on themselves eventually - you just probably made it happen faster.   I am guessing that each QC35-i with this issue has its contacts positioned in slightly different physical orientations and so they randomly turn on in different ways.

Strident Supporter

To all - especially the Austrailians....

I had an over one hour phone call today with the manager of customer care at Bose HQ's in Framingham, MA.  He very much agreed with me on all things.  No promises but here is what resulted:

1. He is going to work with engineering early next week to specifically identify what they have discovered concerning their QC35i testing

2. He is going to see if someone in Bose can put up a pinned post here in this forum to communicate what is going on with the QC35i.

3. He agrees that the support policy is not consistent across regions and sometimes not even in the same center.  He wants to see the same thing standardized worldwide.

4. We agreed that everyone should be treated equally and that Austrailians should be no different from Americans, for example.

I spent some time stressing the importance of a win-win for both Bose and its customers who have QC35i's that won't turn off.  I suggested that should Bose verify the situation is caused as we suggested (by a contact displacement in the on/off switch), that once support people identify and verify them as part of that group, that they all offer a free exchange/upgrade to all regardless of whether the units are within warranty or not.  We'll see if Bose agrees to implementing that and how that will get done, if at all.

Animated Arbiter

@joelirwin wrote:

Thank you!