Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 4, 2020

What happens if you close Bose Connect when downloading an update?

Downloading update for QC 35 II.

 

About this tip:

"- Keep the Bose Connect app in the foreground on your phone or tablet. It's okay if it's running in the background but if you close it or force-quit this update will have to start over when you start the app again."

 

I was downloading the update within the app, and when the circle icon displayed was around 50%, I accidentally closed the app by hitting the back button un my android device.

 

When I opened again the app, it began to download again from 0%.

 

Is that a problem? Was the transfer to the headphones interrumped or it was just the download to the device (phone) that was interrupted and started again?

 

Then when finished downloading again, the UPDATE icon appeared and when pressed, the updated continued without any problems.

 

But I want to know if there was an interruption in the transfer to the headphone, or just the download that started again?

 

Thanks!

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Expert
  • 319
  • 1383
  • 40
Registered since

Jun 15, 2018

Re: What happens if you close Bose Connect when downloading an update?

Author Accepted Answer selected by cgg074

@cgg074It's a 2 step process. in step 1 it downloads the firmware to your device.  If you stop the process, it must start the download all over again as you have seen but that merely over-writes the data/code on top of the previous partially completed one.  Then when the data/file/code is on your device, you then choose to start the code updating process.

The fact that you restarted the download process has no impact.

 

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Expert
  • 319
  • 1383
  • 40
Registered since

Jun 15, 2018

Re: What happens if you close Bose Connect when downloading an update?

Author Accepted Answer selected by cgg074

@cgg074It's a 2 step process. in step 1 it downloads the firmware to your device.  If you stop the process, it must start the download all over again as you have seen but that merely over-writes the data/code on top of the previous partially completed one.  Then when the data/file/code is on your device, you then choose to start the code updating process.

The fact that you restarted the download process has no impact.

 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 8
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 4, 2020

Re: What happens if you close Bose Connect when downloading an update?

Thank you so much @joelirwin for replying.