Highlighted
Participant
Registered since

Oct 9, 2020

A20 w/Bluetooth Persistent Audio Dropouts Using AUX Cable

I've had this (wonderful) headset for just a few weeks, and it's been perfect during flight (I'm a student pilot).

Using it at home to listen to music (which I do only occasionally these days), however, has been a mixed bag due to persistent brief (1s-10s) audio dropouts while using the Aux cable.

I believe I've tracked this down to an input-sensitivity issue, as turning the source volume up higher seems to consistently avoid the issue. (One might think this is because these "dropout points" represent uniquely quiet portions of the respective tracks; but they really don't seem to on a very consistent basis, though they are in sections of music that are on the quieter side.)

Problem is, the audio ends up being too loud at the volumes necessary to avoid this issue: the L/R volume adjustments on the headset's control unit do not affect AUX input volume, nor does the +/- rocker switch on the side, so I'm "stuck" with whatever the source volume translates into in the headset earpieces. (Disabling "AUTO OFF" makes no evident difference.)

Any thoughts as to next steps? I'd like to avoid any hearing damage from long-term use at the minimum volume apparently necessary to preclude dropouts (without having to constantly adjust the source volume); and, besides probably being among the best-reproducing listening setup I currently own, the A20's are more comfortable in the long run than my IQBuds Boost or old Philips in-ear buds (both also noise-canceling), as I find in-ear buds somewhat uncomfortable and sometimes have to keep reinserting them.

Thanks for any suggestions!

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted

Re: A20 w/Bluetooth Persistent Audio Dropouts Using AUX Cable

Hey Jcburley, 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the Community! 

I'm sorry to hear of the issues you seem to be experiencing with the dropout and I would love to help you where I can!