Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IcyMidnight
Contributor
Registered since

Mar 20, 2018

QC 35 II Stuttering - Dual device feature is severely crippled

I have been using my QC 35 IIs for a couple of months now and I'm extremely disappointed with the dual device feature. It is nice that I can associate to two devices but if they're both enabled the sound coming from either of them is super stuttery.

I have a Macbook Pro and a Pixel XL 2 paired to my headphones. Headphones are at firmware v2.5.1, date of manufacure is Aug 10, 2017.

If I'm playing music or a video on either device and they are both connected the audio stutters incessantly. I can usually reduce the severity of the stutter by bringing both devices right next the headphones (i.e. not just the one streaming audio) but the stuttering continues at a lower rate. Whenever I use my headphones I have to turn them on, listen to both devices connect, pull out my phone, and disconnect from one of the devices, and only then start streaming the audio.

I'm not sure if this is a weak bluetooth radio, an underpowered processor in the headphones, or a bug in the firmware that tries to merge the audio from both devices even if only one is actually producing audio, but it makes the dual device feature a pain in the ass to use.

18 REPLIES 18
Shiloh_C
Moderator - Retired
Registered since

Aug 25, 2017

Re: QC 35 II Stuttering - Dual device feature is severely crippled

Hi there, IcyMidnight!

Thank you for reaching out o the community.  To clarify, if you only have one device connected is there any stuttering?   Let's try a couple troubleshooting steps:

1. Turn the headset off and wait for 30 seconds.
  2. Plug the headset into a USB power supply via USB cord and wait 5 seconds. (Power supply needs to be plugged into the wall with power on).
  3. Unplug USB cord from headset and wait 1 minute.
  4. Turn on the headset and test if the headset works properly.