Murrydog
Strident Supporter
Registered since

Nov 2, 2018

Re: Tell us your story

My ears hurt for 2 or 3 days but now I can wear them all day now with no pain.
Highlighted
Ellen C
Friendly Fanatic
Registered since

Feb 2, 2019

My story. I've been wearing traditional hearing aids for about 11 years, though should have been wearing them a lot longer. I've always been frustrated by a number of things about them, which I thought were probably due to a combination of limitations of the technology, design compromises, size restrictions, different priorities than mine, and really not being designed for end-users. (Yes, I've given this a lot of thought over the years.)

I've been wearing the Hearphones for a few months, and they're better for me than my hearing aids in a lot of situations. I think the biggest difference is that the Hearphones give me added speech clarity without added loudness. I'd never thought before about how much quiet contributes to good hearing; I'd always thought that louder was better. The Hearphones make it clear that that's not true. I need some things to be louder, but not everything. The Hearphones directivity is so much better than that of my hearing aids: it makes a big difference in loud restaurants and bars. But I'm also finding them to be better in theaters, both live and movies. I used to need the assisted listening devices offered in live theaters, and I no longer do.

And the sound is just better - not only because of the improvement in noisy environments, but it's also a lot more comfortable in general. Loud noises aren't as sharp, many sounds just aren't as harsh. Sounds feel like they're coming directly into my ears, like with earbuds, rather than coming from the outside world.

The Hearphones are much more user-friendly than my hearing aids. In addition to having more control over what I hear,
it seems clear to me that a lot of thought went into how they work with real-world use and users.