geraldorigo
Audible Advocate
Registered since

Nov 12, 2018

Bose SoundTouch 300 and Roku Ultra - No Dolby Digital

This is my first time posting and wanted to see if anyone has a similar issue. I have a Roku Ultra connected directly to the Bose SoundTouch 300 and I am not receiving any Dolby Digital from applications that do support it on Roku. I previously also had my LG UBK90 UHD Blueray connected to the soundbar with similar results, only PCM was showing.  Is there a configuration setting that I am missing for these devices? 

7 REPLIES 7
Community Manager

Re: Bose SoundTouch 300 and Roku Ultra - No Dolby Digital

Hi geraldorigo

Thanks for writing in!

The SoundTouch 300 soundbar should be capable of handling Dolby Digital as well as DTS.  If the devices are connected direct to the HDMI input on the soundbar, it should be playing what it receives from the source directly.  

Because this soundbar doesn't have a display or the ability to display the audio format, where did you see the PCM information?  

Warm Regards,

Tony A - Community Support 

geraldorigo
Audible Advocate
Registered since

Nov 12, 2018

Hi Tony,

Thanks for replying, I am able to see what audio is being passed from a menu on my LG television.  I've only recently started using the Roku being plugged in to the ST300, when it was connected to my television and the sound was being sent over ARC I was seeing Dolby Digital.  Not sure if the problem is the Soundbar or the Roku at this point, I am going to try plugging in my 4K Blueray player in to the ST300 and see if I get Dolby or or DTS for further troubleshooting. 

Community Manager

Hi geraldorigo

Thanks for the update!