Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 12, 2018

Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

I have 4 still working SA-1 lifestyle amp v2

There is a 3mm jack input that gets amplifier on/of signal from Lifestyle 50

It seems to be a good kept secret wich tension this should be ?

Some forums suggest 10 volts DC tension, but this does not work

Any (old) experienced Bose engineers with answers ?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 5748
  • 296
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

Hi Devotec,

 

Thanks for the question. 

 

I'm unsure of the question you're asking; are you wondering how to connect those to a Lifestyle 50 system?

 

Best,

Brandon - Bose Support

Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 12, 2018

Re: Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

Hi,

Thx

No, its about the zone amplifier that went with LS50, the SA1  AMP2.

I would like to use these amplifiers without LS50....

In the mean time i have found out that the jack connector receives + 10,5 volts and +5.0 volts in order to switch on/off this amplifier. With an oscilloscope i do not see any modulation, only DC voltages, altough when i try to start up with 10.5v and 5v from batteries, nothing happens, when connecting to LS50:  OK

 

Highlighted
Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 3221
  • 128
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

Hi Devotec,

 

Usually, in addition to turn on voltage there will be data sent from the console as well. Because of this we don't support the use of these amps without a supported Bose media center. However our new amplifier that works on Wi-Fi and has the features of Bluetooth and Aux inputs might be what you are looking for. Information on the SA-5 amplifier can be found HERE.

 

Let us know if you have any other questions.

 

Kind Regards,

Joel - Bose Support

 

 

Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 24, 2018

Re: Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

I am trying to solve the same problem, to retask an expensive Bose amp rather than dumpster it. So your only advise is buy a new $500 amp?

 

Highlighted
Expert
  • 352
  • 2595
  • 104
Registered since

Oct 18, 2017

Re: Bose amp SA-1 (vintage)

Bose is not going to tell you how to repurpose an obsolete product.