cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

I am trying to connect to an upgraded Denon Tuner with HDMI ports. I have the Acoustimass 6 series III and there is currently a connection for SURR Back Zone 2 on my older Denon tuner. I am not sure where to plug in this portion of my sound system in my new tuner that doesn't have this named configuration.

 

Bose product name Acoustimass 6 series III

 

Country USA 

 

Firmware Version ???

(1.0.7, 4.8.1, 1.7.0, etc.)

App Version

(4.1.1, 13.0.2, etc.)

What devices were you using that were affected and what version are they on

(Samsung Galaxy S9 on Android 11, iPhone X on iOS14, etc.)

Detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce

 

What environment do you experience the issue in?

(noisy office, quiet kitchen, etc.)

 

When did you start to experience the issue? Did it work correctly previously?

 

Any troubleshooting steps you took

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
rickatk
Expert
  • 385
  • 1968
  • 63
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

Author Accepted Answer selected by Suzyq123

@Suzyq123 wrote:

Hi Rick,

I believe that the other 2 (4-and +) wires are dedicated to 2 small cubes mounted up near the ceiling behind the main listening area. When I ran the sound calibration with the new receiver they did make noise during the test. So I really don't know what they do.


Appear they are set up as elevated rear speakers. Looking at your old receiver that unit supported zone 2 or additional rear channels for exactly that purpose.

Your new receiver doesn’t support additional rear channels or zones as it is a 5:1 receiver. You may want to consider upgrading your receiver to 7:1 or Atmos to take advantage of those extra rear speakers, or take them down. These atria channel receivers aren’t much more expensive these days so an upgrade might be an option. 

 

Regardless the 5:1 receiver you have is more than adequate to power your Acoustimass speakers.

 

 

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
rickatk
Expert
  • 385
  • 1968
  • 63
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

@Suzyq123 Is there a back centre channel port in the main grouping?

There may be a back channel right and left. These are assignable and may be configured to a 6th (single) back channel.

 

What model Denon do you have?

rickatk
Expert
  • 385
  • 1968
  • 63
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

@Suzyq123 

 

On further review I discovered that the Acoustimass 6 is a 5:1 system. Simply plug in the speaker cables to the corresponding ports. The manuals detail that info.

 

The Denon probably has some proprietary firmware to help calibrate your speakers to the receiver and the room.

Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

My NEW  Denon is a AVRS540BT the old one is Denon AVR-2160

 

rickatk
Expert
  • 385
  • 1968
  • 63
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

@Suzyq123  That looks like a nice receiver. As before, connect the speaker cables to the corresponding ports. Use the calibration firmware after.

Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

I did the test and it cannot find the subwoofer. 

Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

82766366-A541-474D-932A-896623A8FA61.jpeg

When replying to a topic, make sure your reply is relevant and keeps the conversation productive. Please be respectful of other community member's opinions. If you are experiencing the issue reported in a thread, the more details you can include the easier it will be for others to try and help.

Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

the photo above is the old tuner here is the back of the new one. 

image.jpg

rickatk
Expert
  • 385
  • 1968
  • 63
Registered since

Nov 12, 2015

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

@Suzyq123 

 

Where/what are the wires going to from the old receiver zone 2?


Did you try plugging into subwoofer #1?

 

What happens when the calibration signal goes to the LFE / sub channel?

Suzyq123
Participant
  • 0
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2020

Re: Connect to a new tunner with no back channel ports

Hello Rick,

I ended up putting electrical tape on the Zone 2 wires. Not sure where they go. I did get the subwoffer to come on after I realized it had been unpluged. Oops.