John K.
Contributor
Registered since

Oct 13, 2019

BOSE 901 Series V compatible receivers using audyssey instead of bose equalizer

Bose product name BOSE 901, Series V

Country USA

Detailed description of the issue

I am a former BOSE engineer that brought my BOSE 901 Series V speakers while working at BOSE.  Receivers available in 2020 do not have the tape monitor function that the 901 equalizer used.

Question - Does Audyssey room equalization properly work with my speakers such that I don't require using the equalizer?

What other solution than separate components ( amplifier, tuner, preamp, 2 channel ...).  THANK YOU - John

Today's 

What environment do you experience the issue in? (e.g. noisy office, quiet kitchen, etc.)

When did you start to experience the issue? Did it work correctly previously?

Any troubleshooting steps you took

2 REPLIES 2
NeonsNight
Expert
Registered since

Nov 4, 2018

Re: BOSE 901 Series V compatible receivers using audyssey instead of bose equalizer

@John K. wrote:

Bose product name BOSE 901, Series V

Country USA

Detailed description of the issue

I am a former BOSE engineer that brought my BOSE 901 Series V speakers while working at BOSE.  Receivers available in 2020 do not have the tape monitor function that the 901 equalizer used.

Question - Does Audyssey room equalization properly work with my speakers such that I don't require using the equalizer?

I highly doubt it. If it did that would most likely be the solution the Bose would tell everyone to do. As it stands, they do not.

@John K. wrote:

What other solution than separate components ( amplifier, tuner, preamp, 2 channel ...).  THANK YOU - John

Today's 

It might be best to go with a pre-amp/powered amp solution as talked about here. Or there is a specific "Deer Creek Audio" receiver talked about in this post.