Solution
Friendly Fanatic
Registered since

Nov 21, 2018

Re: Bose Cinemate 1Sr does not respond to remote

This might be a bit late, & the moderators may forbid this but here goes anyway - there is a semi-simple fix for the "not responding to remote" issue. There seems to be a circuit design flaw with the infrared receiver modules (3) on the IR sensor board. The designer of this circuit had a goal of having the soundbar respond to the remote control from many different angles & rather than use optics to achieve that goal instead added multiple IR receiver modules & from what I could tell via the traces on the board, wired them in parallel. If the circuit would have been using simple infrared detector diodes, this wouldn't have been a problem. But the 38kHz infrared receiver modules used here don't seem to like having their output leg tied directly to another output leg. Now I'm not a design engineer, but I almost never see any designs that DIRECTLY tie multiple outputs together. Anyway replacing these three IR receivers solved the problem. I was tempted to modify the board, but decided that if it lasted 5 years as-is, another 5 years will be enough for the friend I fixed it for. I'm not posting instructions how to repair this, just info on what fixed this one - seems like a better response than "click here to find your nearest authorized service center"

arrowheadbob
Quiet Contributor
Registered since

Nov 21, 2018

Finally an answer that makes sense!  I am a retired electronic engineer who also just started having the seemingly common problem mentioned by so many others above.  My system is just over 4 years old, and this seems to be a design flaw.  I too, am disappointed with the way that Bose is handling what seems to be a product defect.  Seems like a recall notice would be more appropriate.  Anyhow, before I would send it in for repair, I thought I would open it up and have a look, which I am now sure I will do as soon as the holidays permit.