Audio Lag/Synchronization Questions

Highlighted
Strident Supporter

Audio Lag/Synchronization Questions

Hey Tony -

I have seen audio lag issues being brought up on multiple bose forums.  Here are some questions I have about that.  Firstly there is highly likely nothing wrong with the Bose hardware.

1. It could be a 'lag' from the streaming end of the Internet if it is an Internet app such as Youtube or Vimeo.  Could that be a contributor?  If so, wouldn't we see a sync problem even with the builtin speakers of the streaming device?

2. I am guessing (though I am not technically knowledgeable about the protocols), that the lag if bluetooth related/caused could be related to either the Bluetooth protocols 4.x themseleves or the speed of the bluetooth hardware or both.  So would an improvement or fix require either (a) faster BT hardware on either one or both ends or (b) a change to the BT protocols - i.e., an improvement done in BT 5.0 or (c) both

3. Bose does not yet have a wireless device supporting BT 5.  Will BT 5 be restricted to only new/future delivered Bose devices or could we hope to see BT 5 introduced through firmware updates in our current Bose devices?

4 REPLIES

Re: Audio Lag/Synchronization Questions

Hi Joel

Thanks for posting. Let me give you all the information I can regarding this. Some video services are more affected than others.  The SoundSport Free sends audio to the right ear then if buffers it there to sync it to the left ear.  This is inherent to the technology in the headset and can only be minimized by a certain amount with software.  We don't currently offer BlueTooth 5 in any of our devices and although it's not impossible, we have nothing to announce at this time about incorporating it into any existing or future products.

Regards,

Tony G - Community Support

BK.
Quiet Contributor

Re: Audio Lag/Synchronization Questions

NOOO you got everything wrong

1 surely not internet problem it lag on everything everything !