Highlighted
Participant
  • 1
  • 145
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2019

A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

I just recently purchased a used Packlite on eBay. Last night in order to test it, I ran my 2 B1's with my Packlite out of my L1 Model 2, verses hooking up the 2 B1's in the traditional manner. I could hear that the B1's were working, but seriously lacking. No balls, no punch. I hooked up the B1's, the traditional way and everything came back to life. Is there something wrong with this Packlite, or is there something I need to change in the setting on my T1?
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1415
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

Hi macheted01,

Your A1 Packlite is probably fine.

You know that the B1 requires a specific EQ curve to sound great. That is applied in the Power Stand, and the Power Stand knows to do this when it detects a B1 (or two) connected to the Power Stand Bass Module Out(Speakon connection).

The engineers at Bose designed the Model II to detect what kind of Bass Module you are using based on what is plugged into the Bass Module Out and then it sets the same EQ for the Power Stand Bass Line Out (where you connect the A1 PackLite).

If you don't connect a B1 to the Power Stand Module Out, you don't get the correct B1 EQ at the Bass Line Out, and as you heard, the B1s don't sound right.

Also - the design assumes that if you have something connected to the Power Stand Bass Line Out, then you must have two B1s connected to the Power Stand Bass Module Out. The system reduces the output of the bass subsystem by -6 dB. That sounds counter productive, but this keeps the overall spectral balance the same whether have two B1s attached or four. This all works fine if you have a couple of B1s connected to the Power Stand Bass Output, and it doesn't work very well if you don't.

What happened in your test:
  1. B1 EQ not applied
  2. Overall bass reduced by -6 dB


There isn't really a good way to test that the A1 PackLite is working 100% until you run four B1s. But... from what you've said, (you *are* getting sound through the A1 Packlite) it's probably fine.

ST


PS - here's a reference article to explain what is happening in more detail. Bass Line Out

PPS - the behaviour is different if you use one or two B2s, but that doesn't apply here.
Highlighted
Participant
  • 1
  • 145
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2019

Re: A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

Thanks for the quick reply, as always. I feel better. My band mate has a B2, that I could borrow. When I do, which would be the best way to configure the subs to the stand? My plans are to buy a B2 in the near future.
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1415
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

Hi macheted01,

Try the B1s attached directly to the Model II Power Stand and the B2 through the A1 PackLite. You should get bass coming from all three Bass modules, but probably not much louder than with just the two B1s.


Then try the B2 connected directly to the Model II Power Stand and the B1s through the A1 PackLite. Tell me what you hear, please.

If you are thinking of getting a B2 or two ...

What version level is your T1 ToneMatch® Audio Engine? (T1® for short)

  1. Turn the Rotary Selector to Prefs


  2. Press the first button


  3. Turn the first button until you see Versions
  4. Press the button


  5. The versions for the firmware will be displayed. The versions shown below are sample values.
    See:T1 ToneMatch® Audio Engine Firmware Updates for the latest firmware


  6. See:T1 ToneMatch® Audio Engine Firmware Updates for the latest firmware


Right now the latest T1® firmware is 1.8.

What have you got?

Notes: What version of the T1® Firmware do I have?


What version is your Power Stand?
  1. Turn the Rotary Selector to Prefs


  2. Press the first button


  3. Turn the first button until you see Power Stand


  4. Press the button

  5. The version is displayed.


The latest versions add support for the B2 Bass Module

The latest Power Stand EQ: 1.0.4
The latest Power Stand Firmware: 1.4

If you don't have that please update your firmware at this link:

L1® Model II Power Stand Firmware Updates.
Highlighted
Participant
  • 1
  • 145
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2019

Re: A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

Thanks ST,
Sorry, was away from the site for a bit.
T1 is up to date. Was not aware of an update for the power stand. Will have to check on that, the next time I have it all hooked up.
Highlighted
Participant
  • 1
  • 145
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2019

Re: A1 Packlite and 2 B1's ?

Ok, yes, my stand needed to be updated. Completed the update, all good. Still have not hooked up a B2 yet. Maybe, tomorrow night. Thanks for the heads up, on this.