tonydee
Registered since

May 28, 2010

Backing Tracks for Solo Performing ?

Hi all;
I was wondering if I could get some recommendations on backing tracks for solo performing. I'm a vocalist/guitarist who's pretty much been in bands but I want to try the solo thing now. It would be vocal oriented stuff like Beatles, Eagles, America etc. I have a Bose Model II and currently use a Line 6 Pod X3 Live. Is it better to go with a loop device or play recorded tracks through the PA ?
I'm a total newbie going this route so I really appreciate any and all feedback.
Thanks in advance for your help,
Tony
88 REPLIES 88
stos2
Collaborator
Registered since

Jan 17, 2010

Re: Backing Tracks for Solo Performing ?

Tonydee:

I have been doing just that for a few years now. I just bought a L1 Compact, and am playing my first gig out with it in a few days. Here's what I do, but there are several ways to skin this cat.

I download and/or buy midi tracks for the songs I want on-line. There are some good free ones, you just have to check around. I edit the midi files in Cakewalk, removing the tracks I don't want, adding a click for the beginning, modifying the ending if needed, etc. I then export it as an MP3, and download to my iPod. Of course, if you have the time and talent, you can create your own midi files from scratch.

I connect my iPod to one of the T1 inputs, and I'm off and running. I use an Alesis Jamdock to hold my iPod, but you don't have to, it's just convenient for me. I make a playlist for each set and put the songs in order with an MP3 of 4 minutes of silence between songs. That way, I don't have to worry about getting to the iPod stop button before the next song starts.

Also, I usually only have bass and drums as the backing. Sometime a little keyboard or steel drum if needed in a song, but only subtle. IMO if you try to over do it, it will sound really cheesy, like bad karaoke.