Adam2
Registered since

Jan 6, 2020

Bluetooth Connection from Random Strangers (Hijacking Prevention)

Is there a way to stop outsiders in the audience from connecting to your S1 Pro system and playing music or anything they like through your discoverable bluetooth S1 Pro's?

I had this happen to me tonight at a gig in a major club who contracts us to perform there and luckily it was a friend who made us aware of this flaw in the Bluetooth speakers (it really cheesed of the staff and our other clients, and it caused me to go into a panic, as these are very new speakers to me and I'm just learning them, overall a very bad experience for all).

I thought to myself "SURELY" there has to be a way to prevent anyone scanning and finding these speakers via Bluetooth, like a code for them to access them or something?

Any wisdom from anyone here would be muchly appreciated.

24 REPLIES 24
Michael M
Collaborator
Registered since

Aug 8, 2019

Re: Bluetooth Connection from Random Strangers (Hijacking Prevention)

You can plug a 3.5mm (1/8") cable into the AUX input and it will override any device paired via Bluetooth. I confirmed this in the manual on P. 9: "Note: Anything connected via the AUX input will automatically override any device paired via Bluetooth connectivity."

Yendor
Contributor
Registered since

Aug 15, 2019

I believe the most recent firmware changes BT connection procedure that now mandates actually pushing the BT button to pair/connect?
Correct me if I'm wrong ST?

Sam_Spoons
Registered since

Sep 17, 2019

Are you playing music through them yourself? If so then as long as your device doesn't drop the connection nothing else can connect. If you are not then just turn the BT/aux volume to zero.

Forum_Admin
Collaborator
Registered since

Oct 11, 2016

CityFolk
Collaborator
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018