cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
LarryR
Contributor
  • 3
  • 32
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 9, 2018

Bose Sub2 with other Systems

Hi, 

We have a Bose L1 Pro with  Sub2.  In some situations, we would like to pair a single SUB2 with Yamaha DSR112 tops. How should we set the HPF on both the Sub2 and and the Yamaha tops for the best results? The HPF on the Yamaha is 120hz. Should we run the input from the mixer to the SUB2 first and then to to the tops? Should the second Yamaha main stay at full range or should we engage the HPF?
Thanks!

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 79
  • 302
  • 53
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

Author Accepted Answer selected by LarryR

Hello LarryR,

 

Late to the party -- I hope the gig went well!

 

Yes, what Dylan_R said.  The Level control on the Sub2 only controls the volume of the Sub2, but not the level of the signal passing through to the Yamaha's.  The HPF button does alter the makeup of the signal (either full-range or above 150Hz only) but not the volume.  So if the bass level seems to overwhelm the tops, just adjust the Level of the Sub2 up or down to match, it won't alter the signal going to the tops.

 

Does that help?

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 79
  • 302
  • 53
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

Hello LarryR,

 

I'd probably run the L & R mixer leads to the Sub2 inputs first, then from the Sub2 outputs to the tops.  I'd set the LINE INPUT EQ to "LPF" and the LINE OUTPUT EQ to "FULL" to start.  Let your ears be your guide as to whether you prefer to engage the HPF on the Sub2 or not.  If you use it, the woofers in your tops probably won't have anything to do.

 

If you want to try running tops first, then Sub2, go ahead ... either setup will work fine.  The Yamaha speakers' line outputs send a full-range signal -- the Yamaha's HPF switch doesn't affect the signal going to the Sub2.    Again, let your ears be your guide, and have fun!

 

Does that help?

LarryR
Contributor
  • 3
  • 32
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 9, 2018

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

That's a big help!

 

Thanks!

LarryR
Contributor
  • 3
  • 32
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 9, 2018

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

We are planning to use the Sub2 at a gig this weekend with the Yamaha tops. If we go through the SUB2 first, what would be a good starting level. We are a trio that plays acoustic rock, and singer-songwriter type songs with a bass player. In basement testing, I put the level at 9 o'clock on the sub2 and the level on the Yamaha's was at unity. Putting the sub level at 12  felt like too much. Are there any recommendations on this?

Dylan_R
Moderator

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

Hey LarryR,

Go with whatever sounds best! You may have to vary these levels for different setups and venues, but always follow your ears.

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply. If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 79
  • 302
  • 53
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Bose Sub2 with other Systems

Author Accepted Answer selected by LarryR

Hello LarryR,

 

Late to the party -- I hope the gig went well!

 

Yes, what Dylan_R said.  The Level control on the Sub2 only controls the volume of the Sub2, but not the level of the signal passing through to the Yamaha's.  The HPF button does alter the makeup of the signal (either full-range or above 150Hz only) but not the volume.  So if the bass level seems to overwhelm the tops, just adjust the Level of the Sub2 up or down to match, it won't alter the signal going to the tops.

 

Does that help?

View solution in original post