stos2
Collaborator
  • 23
  • 124
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2010

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Seagullman,

Good point.  I guess I haven't considered it since the presets are there for the instruments I use.  But that is not to say they couldn't be tweaked, or that I won't be needing a different one in the near future.  I am looking to get an Ovation with the Op Pro Studion preamp.  I'm sure the T1 doesn't have a Tonematch setting for that.  I agree about getting updated Tonematch settings.  I mean, that's the whole reason the T1 exists, right?  It's the whole selling point of this unit.  You DON"T have to be a sound engineer to get a good sound out of it, and it is matched nicely to fit the L1 systems.  If you are left to adjust the EQ yourself, then there are cheaper options for mixers out there.  I do LOVE the effects on the T1, and the fact that you can apply them to each channel separately.  That's huge.

stos2
Collaborator
  • 23
  • 124
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2010

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Are the Tonematch mixers designed to be used primarily with the Bose L1 and F1 systems?  I mean, are they mainly taylored to these systems?  Has anyone used them with success with any other PA systems?  Does it make sense to?  If so, how well did they work and sound? 

If they were designed mainly for the L1/F1 systems, then I would think that the F1 would also have been designed with the Tonematch digital audio/power port to interface with the the Tonematch.  And then the T8S could have also been designed with these ports.  Seems there's a big mismatch here.  But then, the Compacts don't have this port either, ugh.  Boy, another case for an upgraded Compact? 

Can't wait to hear feedback from users of the T8S and T4S.  I may have to get a T4S and run two Compacts in "stereo" from it.  I'm really interested in hearing if others will be doing this, and hearing how it sounds.  Adding some spatial stereo sound to the Compacts already clear audio may be where it's at.

One final question.  Is there a difference in sound quality between the analog output and the digital Tonematch output?  Maybe just the analog outputs are the better option?  Hmmm ... I'm thinking too much.

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Hi stos2,

stos2 posted:

Are the Tonematch mixers designed to be used primarily with the Bose L1 and F1 systems?  I mean, are they mainly taylored to these systems?  Has anyone used them with success with any other PA systems?  Does it make sense to?  If so, how well did they work and sound? 

I'm sure the new ToneMatch mixers will work well with non-Bose systems (subject to the limitations of those systems). One of the new features in the ToneMatch mixers is the Master Out EQ in the Preferences section.

The Master Out EQ is a 6-band graphic equalizer put on the master mix out. This will help you to tune the output of the ToneMatch mixer to whatever you connect it to.



If they were designed mainly for the L1/F1 systems, then I would think that the F1 would also have been designed with the Tonematch digital audio/power port to interface with the the Tonematch.  And then the T8S could have also been designed with these ports.  Seems there's a big mismatch here.  But then, the Compacts don't have this port either, ugh.  Boy, another case for an upgraded Compact? 

A thought to consider here: The F1 Model 812 and F1 Subwoofer were introduced mid-2015.

Can't wait to hear feedback from users of the T8S and T4S.  I may have to get a T4S and run two Compacts in "stereo" from it.  I'm really interested in hearing if others will be doing this, and hearing how it sounds.  Adding some spatial stereo sound to the Compacts already clear audio may be where it's at.

I hope to hear from people as soon as they become available.

One final question.  Is there a difference in sound quality between the analog output and the digital Tonematch output?  Maybe just the analog outputs are the better option? 

On the ToneMatch T4S the analog outputs was clones of the digital output through the ToneMatch port.

Hmmm ... I'm thinking too much.

It's fun to ponder until we start hearing from people when they've had some time with the units.

Thanks for being a part of the conversation.

ST

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Hi Auron,

Why no digital output on the ToneMatch T8S - more information?

Auron posted:

I'm a bit confused why the T4S has the 2 digital outputs and the T8S has only one. A bit disappointing isn't it?

The ToneMatch T4S has two ToneMatch (digital outputs) and one of those also doubles as power supply (drawing power from the L1®).

The ToneMatch T8S has four main analog outputs, and not digital outputs. There is an RJ45 input (like a ToneMatch port) but that is for the ToneMatch Power Supply.

From Bose:

We tried to make it (full ToneMatch port for digital output) happen for the T8S but powering the T8S from an L1 was not meeting our requirements so we opted for an external power supply which ships with the T8S. While the digital connection is nice, your experience will be fine with a balanced TRS connection between the T8S and L1 Model II.

ST



@Auron @stos2

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

MColin28 posted:

WOW!  That’s really not too bad

 

What’s the size of them?  Is the T8 still as “portable” as the original T1?

The ToneMatch T4S is still just 2.1 pounds and the T8S is 4.1 pounds.



More details: follow these links.

Bose T4S ToneMatch Mixer

Bose T8S ToneMatch Mixer

ST



@MColin28

Seagullman
Advisor
  • 102
  • 1136
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 13, 2013

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

 

stos2 posted:

Seagullman,

Good point.  I guess I haven't considered it since the presets are there for the instruments I use.  But that is not to say they couldn't be tweaked, or that I won't be needing a different one in the near future.  I am looking to get an Ovation with the Op Pro Studion preamp.  I'm sure the T1 doesn't have a Tonematch setting for that.  I agree about getting updated Tonematch settings.  I mean, that's the whole reason the T1 exists, right?  It's the whole selling point of this unit.  You DON"T have to be a sound engineer to get a good sound out of it, and it is matched nicely to fit the L1 systems.  If you are left to adjust the EQ yourself, then there are cheaper options for mixers out there.  I do LOVE the effects on the T1, and the fact that you can apply them to each channel separately.  That's huge.

I guess we'll just have to wait and see how things develop on these lines.

You're right about other cheaper mixers being available. What really convinced me to buy the T1 was its sheer size and capabilities in such a small housing which I could mount on my microphone stand for my solo work with a Compact. For that type of thing I have basically everything I need, including all the "normal" effects in good quality. 

The Compact + T1 did however mean that I had to run 2 Cables to my Microphone stand just to be able to use the T1 with my Compact (plus the fact that I had to adjust the trim on the Analog input of Channel 2 for overall main volume). When I bought my Model II I was really happy that I only needed 1 cable and that the Master on the T1 controlled the main volume.

With the T8S it would appear that I would have to go back to the system I had with my Compact. Somehow I can't see this as being a big step forward for me. Yes, I could mix my trio with just 1 Tonematch mixer rather than the 2 T1's we need when gigging. Would the outlay be acceptable for the ease of having just 1? For many I think that the answer here will be yes, but I fear that I'll be staying with my 2 x T1 set up. The only thing that could possibly change my mind would be to have a substantial increase in the number of available presets. Failing that I would personally probably be looking at a rack mixer controllable via wifi (à la Behringer X32 Rack mixer which has more possibilities, more inputs and more all round).

The disadvantage here being that you need to have a certain knowledge of digital mixing consoles to be able to use it (plus an iPad or similar to control it. I have this knowledge and already own a Yamaha digital mixer. Many don't know much about EQ'ing which was Bose's big argument when they brought out the T1. It was an innovative product with its presets.

Unfortunately this part of the story seems to have ended about 10 years ago. I would really have loved to have seen a major increase in the number of available presets. That would have been a big step forward again in my opinion. 

Don't get me wrong here. More features is great. More inputs is great. The improvements in the effects section is great .... but .... for the musician who's being coaxed into doing his own mixing and has never done it before, time seems to have stood still regarding EQ-Presets. Also the ability to load single presets to be able to customize the Preset Banks to fit one's needs could have been improved on. Maybe someone at Bose will read this and say ... "Hey Tony, we've already done this. Just look on page X of the Manual". I'd love to read that. I may be jumping the gun here. I certainly hope so. 

If not, maybe there's still time for these things to be considered and applied to this new series of mixers. It would be a shame to have to wait another 10 years for these things to appear and by then the boat may have already sailed ...  ...

I know that this probably sounds like griping, but as far as I see things, the forum is also there for people to exchange thoughts, feelings and ideas about the equipment. That's how it was at the beginning anyway. Maybe one or more of the R+D people will read this thread and just have a think about what I've written here. If this has all been taken into account and is being implemented OK. If not maybe it will give food for thought.

Maybe it just hasn't been possible for Bose to compensate for Cliff Henricksen's departure from the Company. I could understand that, but as I see it, no one is completely unreplaceable. 

I am an avid supporter of the L1 series of products. I personally don't know at present of any PA system that suits my Band's needs better than an L1. I'd just like it to stay that way.

One thing that I've always been impressed by has been the speed at which Bose has reacted to any problems that we users may have had over the years. I'd like to say a big "thanks" to all the Bose people who work or have worked in the support team. I know that many of you are musicians yourselves. Maybe that's one big reason that it works so well.

I hope that anyone reading this will see it for what it is ... and that is just expressing my thoughts, wishes maybe even dreams regarding equipment that I have come to love and trust. I'd really love to see this Bose dream that started with the first L1 continue as it began. 

I'd also like to send out a massive word of thanks to Ken Jacob for the development of the L1 system and the forum here that we've all come to know so well and love so much.

Take care everyone and thanks for reading this.

Tony

stos2
Collaborator
  • 23
  • 124
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2010

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

My 5-piece Blues band played tonite for a small private party at a country club.  The room was very small, and we were hurting for space. We played for two hours, one being a dinner set with slower blues/R&B stuff.  Guess what?  We used one Compact with a small powered Behringer sub via two T1's.   Drummer had light sticks. I ran 3 vocals, guitar, bass and keys thru the T1's into the Compact.   Had to daisy chain the two T1's. Pulled it off like a charm.  We didn't need excess power since it was a small place.. But it was a major pain setting up with all the wires running all over using the two Tonematches. I was able to get a nice balanced sound but it took a little tweaking.   Both Tonematches were attached to my mic stand so I could control on the fly. I can't believe my mic stand didn't collapse.  I also had an iPad, vocal mic and harp mic attached to it too. We were actually asked to turn down a little during our non-dinner set.  I guess the Compact was an overkill, LOL.

I gotta get the T8S and mount it to its own mic stand. It will make my life easier.  We use my L1M2 a lot for the band. First time we used the Compact for the band.  I'm impressed. 

I also play with a friend as a duo act. We both have a Compact. So ... having the T8S will aloow us to play in stereo, no?  

Oops, I can hear my wife's eyes rolling.  Gotta go.

benderman57
Contributor
  • 5
  • 10
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 9, 2017

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Looking forward to real life trials of the T8S used with an L1 system. I was always with the assumption that one of the great things about the original T1 was being able to connect the unit digitally. Any time I've hooked up another type of mixer via the analog input on the base of my L1 it had more noise and  just didn't sound as good. This might not be the case with the T8S (I hope) but If power was the issue and they added all those analog outputs on the back would it not have been a good call to make at least two of these outputs Digital to work with all the L1 units our there? You could have also used a separate power supply if needed.

 

 

 

jimboblueice
Contributor
  • 3
  • 45
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 4, 2008

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

Hi,

At last a bigger (more inputs) Tonematch mixer (T8S).

I note that it has stereo outputs. Does each channel have its own Pan Left / Right control? If so, where is this done? (The Master Select Knob has the same main options as the T1.)

When will the the full T8S manual be available for download?

Jim S.

DJ JD BASS
Advocate
  • 152
  • 1993
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 22, 2008

Re: Bose T4S & T8S ToneMatch® Mixers

I am a bit surprised there is really no use for a DJ mixer in these new units... like an option for stereo analog ins (at least two). I also wish there was a rack mount option. As far as the larger one being used for FOH I think that if that was the idea at least 10 if not 12 channels would have been better... most bands I mix sound for take up at least 10 channels... I know this would have increased the size and weight... but it would have been more useful to Bands mixing from stage.

Yes, having a way to connect with an IPad would have been great via Bose software... but I suspect the reason that wasn't not implemented was because of all the technical support that would have been created... for many reasons. 

A audio recording option would have been nice as many mixers these days give you this option... even though some times it is only two tracks (main outs) on a SD card... some might have found it useful. 

Lastly a battery powered option would have been cool as well. 

Just some ideas... these new mixers won't serve any of my needs... but I figured I would chime in.