cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Notice
Welcome to the Bose Portable PA Community!

This is a community for Live Musicians, DJs & KJs, Entertainers of all kinds, and Sound Engineers to discuss Bose Professional S1, L1, F1, and Tonematch systems.

The Bose Community for Bose speakers, headphones, audio sunglasses and more is no longer available. If you need assistance with other Bose products, such as the Quiet Comfort Earbuds, Soundbar 900, QuietComfort 45, etc., please visit our support site. Please note that threads created for non-Bose Professional products will be removed.

Thanks for your understanding!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lobomedia
Collaborator
  • 2
  • 19
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Hi Bose Team.


Considering your previous answers to my questions, and that I have not the plenty sure to the mics cables are all wired properly (because all this are into the walls) I have a new question, pretending avoid to use the Phantom Power in my T8S ToneMatch with all my other dynamic Mics connected at same time.

This time I was wondering if the Phantom Power would be required in the T8S yet, if this is provided to the Mic by a Mixer Berhinger SX3242, and the Mixer will be connected to the T8.

That is, if I connect a microphone to the Berhinger (using it Phantom Power supply) and the Mixer output will connected to the T8, The Phantom Power still need activate in the T8 ?


Thanks in advance for your support.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
CityFolk
Collaborator
  • 272
  • 681
  • 2
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Author Accepted Answer selected by lobomedia

You should only need phantom power from the device that the mic is plugged into. So if you plug your mic into mixer A with phantom power on, then connect to mixer B via mixer A main or auxiliary output, only mixer A needs to have phantom power. 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
CityFolk
Collaborator
  • 272
  • 681
  • 2
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Author Accepted Answer selected by lobomedia

You should only need phantom power from the device that the mic is plugged into. So if you plug your mic into mixer A with phantom power on, then connect to mixer B via mixer A main or auxiliary output, only mixer A needs to have phantom power. 

View solution in original post

lobomedia
Collaborator
  • 2
  • 19
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Thank You.
So, that means that If the Condenser Microphone receive the Phantom Power from the "Mixer A" that it is plugged into.
The "Mixer B" that will receive the signal through the main or auxiliary output from "Mixer A", will receive it signal as a Dynamic Mic?

ChetDude
Collaborator
  • 239
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Actually, mixer A is more likely to receive a signal as a line level source unless there's a switch on mixer B that allows it to output at (the lower) microphone level.

However, almost ALL dynamic microphones have no problem ignoring phantom power so you may not need Mixer A at all.

What are the make and model numbers of the dynamic mics you're using?

lobomedia
Collaborator
  • 2
  • 19
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Thank You Chet

I have connected 4 Dynamics Mics Shure Super 55 into the T8S
And I need supply Phantom for a two Condenser Mics Shure SM27

ChetDude
Collaborator
  • 239
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

I'm 99.9% certain that you can turn phantom power on in your T8S and it will not harm your Super 55s in any way.

I have often run Shure SM58, SM57, Beta 52a and Senn dynamic mics with phantom power inadvertently left on with no damage to the mixer or the mics.

ChetDude
Collaborator
  • 239
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

CityFolk
Collaborator
  • 272
  • 681
  • 2
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

I concur with Chet, I run dynamic mics (Shure SM58 Beta) through a mixer with phantom power on with no issues. 

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Hi, Miguel Lobo.

Will Phantom Power Damage Dynamic Microphones

Phantom power supplies have current limiting which will prevent damage to a dynamic microphone even if it is shorted or miswired. In general, balanced dynamic microphones can be connected to phantom powered mixer inputs with no problem.
Source: What is Phantom Power, Shure.com
As long as your mic cables are all wired properly (balanced, with the correct pin connections) and well made, and you are using decent XLRs everywhere — and all your microphones are modern — there is no problem at all.
Source: Phantom power on Dynamics, Sound on Sound

More information here: Phantom Power



ST

lobomedia
Collaborator
  • 2
  • 19
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Re: Can I provide the Phantom to the Mic, from a Mixer connected to my T8S?

Thank you guys.

I was worried because I haven’t way to confirm if the wired used are the correctly to prevent any damage in my Dynamics so, that is the reason for my question but, your answers give me confidence to use it.

thanks again