Highlighted
Member
  • 5
  • 16
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2018

Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

I am a solo musician and have been hired to play music at a location where they want me to use their mixer and their speakers.
 
The challenge: Their sound is horrible.
 
My question: Can I connect my Microphone and Guitar to my T4S Tonematch mixer like I usually do, set the settings on the Tonematch mixer where I like it, but then somehow connect the Tonematch mixer to their Mackie ProFX12v3 regular mixer somewhere and have the sound come through their speakers?
 
Cuz that would be AWESOME.
 
(Please answer with pictures cuz I don't know what anything is called...!)
 
'ppreciate the help!
 
 - Douglas
16 REPLIES 16
Highlighted
Participant
  • 66
  • 298
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 16, 2019

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

Yes you can, I do this frequently.

Just place two cables between your T4S output jacks and the other mixer.

Dave

Highlighted
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

May 30, 2020

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

Yes you can. I don’t know how you have your T4S configured; if your tracks I mean channels are panned left and right, for example. That makes a difference on how you’re going to send your signal to their Mackie mixer. If I was you, and I wasn’t using monitoring, I would pan my tracks in a stereo mix and then simply take the headphone output from the T4S and send it to their Mackie. Get a tip ring sleeve mail quarter inch cable to plug into the headphone output That terminates in (2) 1/4 inch male tip sleeve ends. 

Most likely their system is running mono so I wouldn’t worry about panning the Mackies two channels that are receiving your output. There are so many variables, as with any set up like this.

Highlighted
Advisor
  • 136
  • 3502
  • 2
Registered since

May 25, 2004

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

Hi DMC,

As in most situations, my advice is keep it simple.

There is really no need to utilize two channels on the house mixer if you normally play in mono. Treat the Mackie as you would the Bose system you normally connect to. Use a singleTRS cable. Most Mackie mixers have "unity"  marked on input trim, channel, and output controls. Ideally those settings will work allowing you to make all mix and volume control from the T4S. Arrive early to do a sound check just to make sure everything works as expected.

Select line level input on a single channel on the Mackie, set all Mackie eq controls flat, which is the 12:00 position. Make sure all FX are off.

Use the T4S as you normally would.

If the advice given here is not completely understood, find the Mackie mixer manual online and study it before the gig. You need to be knowledgeable and confident if you go against the management's wishes.

O..

 

Highlighted
Member
  • 5
  • 16
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2018

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

@ScubaBadger posted:

Yes you can, I do this frequently.

Just place two cables between your T4S output jacks and the other mixer.

Dave

I'm very glad to hear it's possible BUT I don't know what you mean by "Just place two cables between your T4S output jacks and the other mixer". Could you clarify?

Highlighted
Member
  • 5
  • 16
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2018

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

@neve1064 posted:

Yes you can. I don’t know how you have your T4S configured; if your tracks I mean channels are panned left and right, for example. That makes a difference on how you’re going to send your signal to their Mackie mixer. If I was you, and I wasn’t using monitoring, I would pan my tracks in a stereo mix and then simply take the headphone output from the T4S and send it to their Mackie. Get a tip ring sleeve mail quarter inch cable to plug into the headphone output That terminates in (2) 1/4 inch male tip sleeve ends. 

Most likely their system is running mono so I wouldn’t worry about panning the Mackies two channels that are receiving your output. There are so many variables, as with any set up like this.

Thanks for your help, my friend. Begging your patience as I am sound system-challenged, here's some questions...

You wrote:

"Yes you can. I don’t know how you have your T4S configured; if your tracks I mean channels are panned left and right, for example."

HOW DO I KNOW IF THEY ARE PANNED LEFT OR RIGHT?

"That makes a difference on how you’re going to send your signal to their Mackie mixer. If I was you, and I wasn’t using monitoring, I would pan my tracks in a stereo mix"

HOW DO YOU PAN TRACKS IN A STEREO MIX?

"and then simply take the headphone output from the T4S and send it to their Mackie."

HEADPHONES OUTPUT? WHERE'S THAT? WOULDN'T I USE THE OUT ON THE BACK OF THE T4S MIXER? 

Screen Shot 2020-06-13 at 7.56.22 PM

"Get a tip ring sleeve mail quarter inch cable to plug into the headphone output That terminates in (2) 1/4 inch male tip sleeve ends."

TIP RING SLEEVE... IS THAT THE CORD WITH TWO LINES ON THE ENDS?

Screen Shot 2020-06-13 at 7.58.30 PM

"Most likely their system is running mono so I wouldn’t worry about panning the Mackies two channels that are receiving your output."

I HAVE NO IDEA IF THEY'RE RUNNING MONO. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?

"There are so many variables, as with any set up like this."

THERE SURE ARE!

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1407
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

Hi, DMC (Douglas).

@DMC posted:
I am a solo musician and have been hired to play music at a location where they want me to use their mixer and their speakers.
 
The challenge: Their sound is horrible.
Quick thought: If the sound is horrible through the house system (Mackie ProFX12v3 and house speakers), plugging your T4S into that system may not sound much better.
 
 
My question: Can I connect my Microphone and Guitar to my T4S Tonematch mixer like I usually do, set the settings on the Tonematch mixer where I like it, but then somehow connect the Tonematch mixer to their Mackie ProFX12v3 regular mixer somewhere and have the sound come through their speakers?
 
However, like you, I'm optimistic. I have often plugged my ToneMatch mixer into a house PA - mainly so I have control over the EQ and effects.  That works when you disable the EQ and effects on the mixer. Otherwise you just compound all the problems.
Whether you connect to one channel or two on the Mackie ProFX12v3, make sure you set all the EQ controls on the channel(s) you use to 12:00 o'clock. And FX send knob off (fully counterclockwise).
Cuz that would be AWESOME.
 
(Please answer with pictures cuz I don't know what anything is called...!)
 
'ppreciate the help!
 
 - Douglas

Since you wanted pictures:

Use a 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve to 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve cable

Hosa HSS-001.5 Pro Cable 1/4-Inch TRS - Same 1.5 Feet 

T4S to Mackie ProFXv3BalancedLineInputsMono

Note. If you don't already have one, you will need a ToneMatch® Power Supply  for the T4S.

As Oldghm said, please read the owners guide for the Mackie ProFX12v3

Get there well before the gig so you can test things out. 

ST

Highlighted
Member
  • 5
  • 16
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2018

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

@Oldghm posted:

Hi DMC,

As in most situations, my advice is keep it simple.

There is really no need to utilize two channels on the house mixer if you normally play in mono. Treat the Mackie as you would the Bose system you normally connect to. Use a singleTRS cable. Most Mackie mixers have "unity"  marked on input trim, channel, and output controls. Ideally those settings will work allowing you to make all mix and volume control from the T4S. Arrive early to do a sound check just to make sure everything works as expected.

Select line level input on a single channel on the Mackie, set all Mackie eq controls flat, which is the 12:00 position. Make sure all FX are off.

Use the T4S as you normally would.

If the advice given here is not completely understood, find the Mackie mixer manual online and study it before the gig. You need to be knowledgeable and confident if you go against the management's wishes.

O..

 

Thanks so much for your help. Can I ask some clarifying questions?...

You wrote:

"There is really no need to utilize two channels on the house mixer if you normally play in mono."

I DON'T KNOW IF I PLAY IN MONO OR NOT BUT THE IDEA I HAVE SO FAR IS TO GO FROM THE T4S MIXER TO THE MACKIE MIXER ON ONE CHANNEL, NOT TWO. SO...

I'M WITH YOU SO FAR...

"Treat the Mackie as you would the Bose system you normally connect to. Use a singleTRS cable. Most Mackie mixers have "unity"  marked on input trim, channel, and output controls."

I LOOKED ON PICS I HAVE OF THE MACKIE MIXER. CAN'T FIND WHERE IT READS 'UNITY'. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?

"Ideally those settings will work allowing you to make all mix and volume control from the T4S."

YES. THAT'S THE IDEAL.

"Arrive early to do a sound check just to make sure everything works as expected."

YOU CAN BET ON THAT!

"Select line level input on a single channel on the Mackie,"

AGAIN, COULDN'T FIND 'LINE LEVEL INPUT' ON THE MACKIE. WHAT IS THAT?

set all Mackie eq controls flat, which is the 12:00 position. Make sure all FX are off.

GOT IT.

"Use the T4S as you normally would."

THAT'S THE HOPE!

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1407
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

Hi Douglas,

I see we were typing at the same time. I had not seen your most recent posts when I replied immediately above.

I'd suggest you do NOT use the T4S headphone output jack because that will give you an unbalanced signal from the T4S to the mixer.  This will leave you vulnerable to line noise. 

The only way to know if the house system is running mono or stereo is to ask them. However most places run mono.

Just in case they are running stereo, you can use two cables like this.

1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve to 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve cable

[local image not available][local image not available]

  

T4S to Mackie ProFXv3BalancedLineInputs

As for finding "Unity" - it is at 12:00 o'clock on the GAIN setting marked "U" - please read the Mackie Owners Guide. Here's a link.

Mackie ProFX12v3

ST

Highlighted
Member
  • 5
  • 16
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2018

Re: Connecting T4S Tonematch mixer to ProFX12v3 Mackie MIxer

@ST posted:

Hi, DMC (Douglas).

Quick thought: If the sound is horrible through the house system (Mackie ProFX12v3 and house speakers), plugging your T4S into that system may not sound much better.
 
However, like you, I'm optimistic. I have often plugged my ToneMatch mixer into a house PA - mainly so I have control over the EQ and effects.  That works when you disable the EQ and effects on the mixer. Otherwise you just compound all the problems.
Whether you connect to one channel or two on the Mackie ProFX12v3, make sure you set all the EQ controls on the channel(s) you use to 12:00 o'clock. And FX send knob off (fully counterclockwise).

Since you wanted pictures:

Use a 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve to 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) Tip-Ring-Sleeve cable

Hosa HSS-001.5 Pro Cable 1/4-Inch TRS - Same 1.5 Feet 

T4S to Mackie ProFXv3BalancedLineInputsMono

Note. If you don't already have one, you will need a ToneMatch® Power Supply  for the T4S.

As Oldghm said, please read the owners guide for the Mackie ProFX12v3

Get there well before the gig so you can test things out. 

ST

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED - PICTURES! Wow.

Yeah. I am going to switch off the FX on the Mackie for sure, and use the FX and EQ of the Tonematch. And it's not that the sound is horrible, it's just that I don't know the Mackie board nearly as well as I do the T4S Mixer and I don't want to waste gigs where they're paying me to figure it out.

I just want to go in, hook up my proven T4S mixer, and GO.

I'm so thankful to everyone for their input... I'm excited to do this gig now!