Notice

The Bose Community Forum was launched at a time when robust online support was not available for Bose customers. Over the past several years we have added new online service channels that provide a more interactive and complete digital experience. Additionally, we have enhanced the My Bose Account capabilities to deliver a more personalized and self-service experience. As a result, Bose has made the decision to close Community Forum for Consumer electronics products on September 30th. The Bose Pro portion of the Community will still operate as usual.


Please visit our support homepage to experience one of our many other digital service channels or simply use your Community log-in credentials to sign in to your My Bose Account to view your orders and view support options.


Thank you to all who have contributed and benefited from interacting in our Community. We look forward to continuing to serve you online.


Regards,
Bose Customer Service Team
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Samrobbinsmusic
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 7, 2021

Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Hi,

 

I recently purchased a T4S and L1 Pro 16. Love them both, and I've been able to connect my mixer to my monitor and gotten a good mix on it when it is plugged into one of main outputs. However, I don't have any control over the monitor from the mixer when it's plugged into one of these two. There is no sound when I plug it into either one of the aux outs, and obviously no way to control it. 

 

I've gone through both of the below articles and it seems like I'm doing everything right. It seems like the aux outputs just aren't working or something. Any help would be much appreciated!

 

https://toonz.ca/bose/wiki/index.php?title=T4S_ToneMatch_Mixer_Monitor_Outputs

 

https://toonz.ca/bose/wiki/index.php?title=T4S_Pan_Aux

 

 

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 77
  • 291
  • 52
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Author Accepted Answer selected by Samrobbinsmusic

Hello again Samrobbinsmusic,

 

Oh, hey, I forgot something:  You said your Aux1 mix was dry.  If Reverb is the only thing you're using, you need to make sure that you actually have it going to the Aux1 port.  By default, it's only going to the mains.  You have to set how much reverb you want going to Aux1 for every one of the four channels.  (Note that you can only send reverb to the mains or Aux1 but not to Aux2.)

 

Choose the "Ch Edit" button for a channel, and rotate the main selector knob to "Reverb".  Press the left selector button under the menu display, and rotate it to "Aux 1".  Press the center selector button under the display to choose how much reverb and bright to adjust, by rotating the center and right buttons  (pressing the center selector button again mutes reverb to Aux 1.)

 

Sorry I missed that earlier (I always preferred my monitor mixes dry so I never realized that!)

 

I hope that helps!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 77
  • 291
  • 52
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Hello Sammrobbinsmusic,

 

Congratulations on getting your T4s and L1 Pro 16.  Here's a couple of ideas for troubleshooting.  They basically follow the Wiki articles you referenced:

 

  • Work with Aux 1 only to start with (anything you do would be equally applicable to Aux 2.)
  • Turn down the MASTER volume on your T4s.  This will ensure you're not sending any signal through the ToneMatch cable to the L1 Pro 16.
  • Connect a sound source (microphone or instrument) to Channel 1 and select its "CH EDIT" button.
  • On the T4s, turn the Rotary Selector to PAN/AUX.  Rotate the left button to choose Aux Send 1 and press the button to select.
  • Rotate the selectors for Level and Tap to "50%" and "Pre" respectively as a starting point.
  • On your L1 Pro 16, turn the volume for its Channel 1 all the way down.
  • On your T4s, turn the volume for its Channel 1 all the way down.
  • Connect a 1/4" cable from the T4s Aux 1 to Input 1 on the L1 Pro 16 (we'll test the monitor later), then turn the L1 Pro 16's Channel 1 volume up a little.
  • Keep the MASTER volume on your T4s fully down.
  • Use your mic or instrument to send a signal to Channel 1 on your T4s.  Make sure the green light above the TRIM control is flashing green (to ensure you have a good signal.)

At this point, you should have some sound on your L1 Pro 16.  Vary the level on the PAN/AUX menu and the volume on the L1 Pro 16 Channel 1.  If you still don't have any sound, try another 1/4 cable to make sure it's good.  If the cable is good, you might have a problem with your T4s, and should contact Bose directly for more troubleshooting or service.

 

If you are getting sound, then turn down the L1 Pro 16's Channel 1, unplug the cable, and plug it into the monitor, and turn the monitor's volume up.  If you get sound, you're good to go; if not, the problem might be with your monitor.

 

Does that help?

 

Samrobbinsmusic
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 7, 2021

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Hi,

 

This is helpful! I have a signal now from the aux outputs, but it's a totally dry signal. According to the Bose wiki pages I was looking at, it seems like I could send the signal from the Main R output to my monitor, and it would have the same sound that I'm sending it to my Pro 16. However, when I do this, I get no signal.

Samrobbinsmusic
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 7, 2021

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

All I need is the signal I'm sending to the L1, to my monitor. So any way to do that would be much appreciated! I'm basically at a loss.

Fish-54
Mentor
  • 77
  • 291
  • 52
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Hi Samrobbinsmusic,

 

Sounds like we're getting a start.  What make and model monitor are you using?

 

Using Aux 1:  If you have the Aux tap point set you "Pre" rather than "Dry", you should get the same ToneMatch effects as you are sending to the channel volume control.  (EDIT:  See my post below regarding Reverb to Aux 1.)  You may want to set the Aux level higher than 50% ... even up to 100% is fine, as long as your channel trims are properly gain-staged (trim light blinking steady green when signals are present -- turn the trim down if you're steadily going red.)  Gain staging instructions can be found here.  

 

Using the 1/4" main out:  The Main 1/4" outs provide the same signal as the ToneMatch ports, but there's not a good way to balance between an L1 via the ToneMatch cable with a 1/4" cable from the 1/4" main outs if you run both connections on the right channel.  Try running the cable to your monitor from the left Main out instead, and then use the Pan/Aux controls for each channel to pan more of your channel signals to the left.  Adjust the pans until you have desired balance between your L1 Pro 16 and the monitor.  This can get tricky, as your master volume will turn up both the L1 and monitor simultaneously, so if you turn up to get more mains, you'll probably have to adjust the channel pans.  (That's why a separate monitor mix via Aux may be advantageous.)

 

BTW, I've checked your website and you sound great!

 

Does that help?

 

 

 

 

Fish-54
Mentor
  • 77
  • 291
  • 52
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Author Accepted Answer selected by Samrobbinsmusic

Hello again Samrobbinsmusic,

 

Oh, hey, I forgot something:  You said your Aux1 mix was dry.  If Reverb is the only thing you're using, you need to make sure that you actually have it going to the Aux1 port.  By default, it's only going to the mains.  You have to set how much reverb you want going to Aux1 for every one of the four channels.  (Note that you can only send reverb to the mains or Aux1 but not to Aux2.)

 

Choose the "Ch Edit" button for a channel, and rotate the main selector knob to "Reverb".  Press the left selector button under the menu display, and rotate it to "Aux 1".  Press the center selector button under the display to choose how much reverb and bright to adjust, by rotating the center and right buttons  (pressing the center selector button again mutes reverb to Aux 1.)

 

Sorry I missed that earlier (I always preferred my monitor mixes dry so I never realized that!)

 

I hope that helps!

View solution in original post

Samrobbinsmusic
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 7, 2021

Re: Controlling the monitor mix from my T4S

Yes!! That's what I was missing! Thank you. And I appreciate the kind words on the music! I'm mostly an acoustic guy and I'm really trying to up my audio game with all this new Bose stuff. Thank you!