Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 24, 2020

Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

I recently bought a used L1 Model II and two B1 units from a seller in Canada, who is shipping them to me in Virginia.  I've been contacted by UPS for my social security number as the seller listed the L1 as being manufactured in China and therefore subject to tariffs.  

Questions: (1) Are L1 systems manufactured in China? (2) Is that true for all L1 systems even older ones or different models? (3) Even if manufactured in China, isn't it likely that tariffs were paid when the unit was new IF it was shipped into the U.S. before being sold into Canada?  (4) If so, how can I determine whether this happened for my unit.  (I have a message out to my seller, who's been very communicative, with these same questions.)

I appreciate ANY help folks can provide.

Schief 

14 REPLIES 14
Highlighted
Member
  • 68
  • 178
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 13, 2018

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Hi Schief,
They're definitely made in China. I had to verify this last month for work (Federal Gov't), as we're required to verify TAA Compliance for all products the Federal Gov't purchases and one of our offices wanted to by an L1 Model II.  I checked with Bose as I have to approve/disapprove these purchases, and they replied that all Bose products are made in China (so not TAA Compliant).

I'm not a tariff expert, but having to pay tariffs on 2nd-hand equipment based on original country of manufacture sounds like **. Whether the original buyer paid them or not is not your problem. You might want to contact the Department of Commerce - International Trade Administration and ask for guidance.

Hope this helps,
Jeff

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1407
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Hi, Schief.

Welcome to the Bose Portable PA Community.

schief posted:

I recently bought a used L1 Model II and two B1 units from a seller in Canada, who is shipping them to me in Virginia.  I've been contacted by UPS for my social security number as the seller listed the L1 as being manufactured in China and therefore subject to tariffs.  

Questions: (1) Are L1 systems manufactured in China?

Yes.

(2) Is that true for all L1 systems even older ones or different models?

All L1 systems.

(3) Even if manufactured in China, isn't it likely that tariffs were paid when the unit was new IF it was shipped into the U.S. before being sold into Canada? 

I don't have the details about how all units were routed from point of manufacture to point of sale. The details about shipping and tariffs may have varied over time.

(4) If so, how can I determine whether this happened for my unit.  (I have a message out to my seller, who's been very communicative, with these same questions.)

There's always the possibility the units were shipped directly from China to Canada.



I appreciate ANY help folks can provide.

Schief 

I hope you get things worked out.

ST

Highlighted
Member
  • 84
  • 379
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 17, 2019

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Jeff K posted:

Hi Schief,
They're definitely made in China. I had to verify this last month for work (Federal Gov't), as we're required to verify TAA Compliance for all products the Federal Gov't purchases and one of our offices wanted to by an L1 Model II.  I checked with Bose as I have to approve/disapprove these purchases, and they replied that all Bose products are made in China (so not TAA Compliant).

 

Sounds like the Canadian Government are no longer using computers if they can't  buy non TAA compliant kit  time to buy shares in Biro.....

Highlighted
Contributor
  • 3
  • 24
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Don't really know,  but sounds like a scam to me.  UPS might need to collect the tariff, but why would they need your social security number for that?  Would definitely contact an UPS office for clarification

Highlighted
Advisor
  • 136
  • 3501
  • 2
Registered since

May 25, 2004

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

I second the scam alert. 

I would be  cautious of any private, musical equipment sale across country borders. In the past here I reported on someone in Europe trying to sell a guitar that was in my collection. Even when I contacted the seller and asked for confirmation that he was indeed selling the guitar pictured, he assured me he was.

O..

Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 24, 2020

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Thanks all!  This was a Reverb.com sale through PayPal; the seller has been extremely responsive. So, I'm not worried about the transaction.  The folks from UPS who contacted me via phone and then by email have all the shipping papers (they've sent me copies) and provided a copy of US Customs and Border Protection regs that set forth the conditions requiring an importers' F.E.IN. or social security number.  So, I "think" it's completely legit, but would love to find a way to avoid the extra expense.  (It got a great deal as the Canadian dollar is very low compared to the US dollar right now.)

Highlighted
Contributor
  • 3
  • 24
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 9, 2020

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

UPS contacted you by phone and e-mail.  How can you be sure it is them?

The seller would also have all the shipping papers, or had them drawn up to look real.  Of course he would be extremely responsive if it is a scam.

Definitely contact UPS on your own to verify.

Highlighted
Advisor
  • 136
  • 3501
  • 2
Registered since

May 25, 2004

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

I don't understand why "used" equipment would require "tariff". What if production date or original Canadian import was before tariff was initiated.

If it was a simple import fee it would be different than a tariff based on country of mfr.

Glad that you are confident in the seller.

O..

Highlighted
Member
  • 68
  • 178
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 13, 2018

Re: Country of Manufacture for L1 Model II

Sam Spoons posted:

Sounds like the Canadian Government are no longer using computers if they can't buy non TAA compliant kit  time to buy shares in Biro.....

Not sure how Canada's Gov't handles TAA Compliance, I was referring to the US Federal Gov't. If there are items that are completely unavailable outside of non-TAA Compliant countries, I'm sure there are mitigations. There's also a percentage baseline, i.e. the requirement is that more than 50% of the product's pieces/parts must be from TAA Compliant countries, and must be manufactured/assembled in TAA Compliant countries. I will say for AV equipment it's getting harder and harder, but I've yet to find a non-TAA compliant product that doesn't have a TAA Compliant competitor available. There are also a number of companies that moved, or were going to move, product lines to China that are bringing them back to TAA Compliant countries of manufacture. Partially this is due to more customers requiring TAA Compliance, but mainly due to the increased tariffs on Chinese products and recent trade developments.

Jeff