Highlighted
Registered since

May 29, 2018

Do I need A mIxer? Using a L1 Compact with TC Helicon Play Acoustic

Newbie here in the world of compact PA's. I just ordered a L1 Compact and a TC Helicon Play Acoustic. One vocal/ one acoustic guitar is all I plan on using this system for... Can I get a decent mix prior to going out of the mono output to the L1 Compact ? Or Do I really need to think about getting the tonematch mixer or some other type of mixer ( Mackie, etc) to interface with the Compact? Anyone out there can lead me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

26 REPLIES 26
Highlighted
Registered since

May 5, 2018

Re: Do I need A mIxer? Using a L1 Compact with TC Helicon Play Acoustic

Hey DWR. I had a similar set up with the Compact years ago, and was unhappy with the built in “tonematch” effects. So I always used a tonematch mixer with the AC adapter and it sounded great in very small rooms. I ended up upgrading to a full L1 system when I outgrew my compact  

However, I did just get the S1 pro for smaller gigs and I am blown away by the built in effects. Hopefully the compact got an upgrade somewhere along the way and the built in tonematch  sounds better now.

i would definitely try out a simple mixer with basic built in effects (delay, reverb, etc.) first. Between that and the voice play you should be able to get a cool mix, and save about $400 or so on a tonematch mixer. 

Highlighted
Professional Legend
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Hi DWR,

Thank you for joining the Bose Portable PA Community.

DWR posted: