Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 10, 2008

Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post, but I am hopeful to find the answer here. I posted the following on vguitarforums.com, but no one knows for certain:

c) It appears that there is no way to get the digital out of the VG-99 into the T1 or L1, is that right? Or is anyone using the USB output of the VG-99 into the USB input of the T1?? Seems unfortunate to have to go from digital to analogue to digital to analogue if the USB to USB option cannot work. If the USB to USB does not work, is there any bad latency or sound quality degradation from all the conversions?

Can anyone here give me an answer whether the USB out from the VG-99 is completely compatible and works to pass digital audio to the T1 USB input? Are there any bugs? If this is not something that works at present, can someone from Bose advise if they are working on this (or some other VG-99 preset) for the T1 to roll out in the near future?

I appreciate any input as I am researching my purchase decision. Take care. Mike
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1412
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

Hi Gatormike,

The T1™ acts as a USB "Slave" or "controllee" client and requires a "Master" or "controller" host like a computer. I don't think it will accept an input via USB except from a computer that recognizes it as a USB sound card. Will your VG99 do that?



Refs: T1 and USB

Edit - terminology corrected as per troberts post below.
Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 298
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 21, 2004

Re: Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

quote:
Originally posted by Gatormike:
...It appears that there is no way to get the digital out of the VG-99 into the T1 or L1, is that right?


Hi Mike - I work with USB on occasion at the circuit & software levels for my day job. USB is structured to have a controller (called a Master, Type A connector, usually a computer) and a multitude of controllees (called slaves, Type-B or Mini-B connector, i.e. VG-99, Bose T-1, Zoom H4, etc). The controllees cannot communicate with each other. Since both the VG-99 and T-1 are in that category they will not communicate unless one or the other makes a major hardware/software change and adds the capability to become a master.

No joy Frown
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1412
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

Hi troberts,

Thanks for the correction on the terms and the clarification.
Great info that I will add to the wiki.

Gatormike,

Here is some information about latency in the L1™

quote:
Originally posted by Hilmar-at-Bose:
Welcome to our forum.

In all products (T1, L1 model II, and L1 model I) the signals go though a pre-amp (as needed) and then directly converted to digital with an A/D converter. All processing is done in the digital domain and the signals are converted back to analog before the output or the power amps. The connection between the T1 and the L1 Model II is digital. When connecting a T1 through a the Master Out to a L1 Model I, the connection is analog, i.e. the signal passes twice through and A/D and D/A. We use very high quality converters, and the effect of A/D and D/A on sound and signal quality is completely insignificant.

The latency depends a little on the exact configuration. Low latency was certainly a major design criterion for our product. It’s typically measured in 1000th of a second or milliseconds or ms for short. 1 ms is the time it takes sound to travel one foot. A delay of 1ms is equivalent to moving one foot away from the loudspeaker or instrument.

Actual latencies are ca.
Model I: 1 ms
Model II: 1 ms
T1: 2.5 ms
T1+Model II: 2.5 ms
T1+Model I: 3.5 ms

Hope that helps

Hilmar

Source: Latency & the L1 in the wiki.
Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 10, 2008

Re: Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

Thank you all for the thoughtful replies. Obviously, I am sorry to hear that the USB to USB route is an apparent dead end.

The L1 does receive rave reviews on vguitarforums by some of the VG-99 users. So, the A/D/A/D/A conversion and latency appears to be a non-issue.

Thanks again.
Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 298
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 21, 2004

Re: Interfacing with Roland VG-99?

quote:
Originally posted by ST:
...Thanks for the correction on the terms and the clarification.....


Just for the record Host and Client are also valid terms Wink