scotthanna
Advocate
  • 28
  • 601
  • 4
Registered since

May 20, 2006

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

I'm a wedding DJ as well. About the same size typical weddings. 

I've also been using the model 2'sfor a while. 

 

Now, this is speculation at this point, as I haven't actually used them yet, but I'm guessing the pro 32 would be a step above the model 2. I'm basing this off of 32 speakers on the pro 32 vs 24 on the model 2. 

The pro16 seems closer to the L1 model 1s. 16 speakers on the pro16 vs 12 on the 1s. 

 

I'm guessing you'll get more punch with the Sub 1 or 2 than you will with the sub attached to the pro16. 

 

I agree I don't often need all of the model 2, but there are times with a packed dance floor that I don't believe an L1s....or a pro16 would be enough. 

 

So I'll be going with the Pro32. 

scotthanna
Advocate
  • 28
  • 601
  • 4
Registered since

May 20, 2006

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

If history is any indication, they will probably sell the current products until inventory runs out and then focus on the new products. 

Ricky Zen
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 28, 2020

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family! Should I but direct from Bose or Guitar Center?

Thanks for your comments and information Scott.                                                                                              I was on the fence between the S1 & the L1 compact... However, With the new Pro line coming available that fixed that. I am very interested in the S1 for the future to fill in the L1 Pro 8 that I will be purchasing and doing a unboxing / real world review on. Do you think the S1 would be a good additional match? Plus, Should I buy direct from Bose or Guitar Center? 

Wayneatchley
Contributor
  • 2
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 10, 2018

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

Thanks scott for the feedback. Unfortunately, the 32 is out of my budget range 😞

 

i used normal PAs with my band and just understanding all the differences with these Bose systems has been a learning curve. 

Chriscom
Enthusiast
  • 12
  • 28
  • 1
Registered since

Jul 30, 2018

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

Is there an official Bose presence here? I see multiple questions, none of which have been answered. The previous forum generated quick and helpful responses (please tell me they didn't nuke years of in-depth knowledge). I can't imagine why not, but does the Pro line power the T1 Tonematch as well? That's one example.
rory conway
Enthusiast
  • 14
  • 40
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 16, 2018

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

Yes. Can we get confirmation that the T1 works with the new l1 pro systems. I’d like to know this as I use t1 for solo work & a ts8 for my group. Thanks
Oldghm
Leader
  • 156
  • 3545
  • 6
Registered since

May 25, 2004

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

I just got off the phone with customer service. Their official answer is YES, the T1 will work in the ToneMatch port of the new L1 Pro series. O..
TommyD33710
Advocate
  • 58
  • 150
  • 2
Registered since

May 18, 2017

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

count me in

scotthanna
Advocate
  • 28
  • 601
  • 4
Registered since

May 20, 2006

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

Thanks. That's wonderful news!!!

Dylan_R
Moderator

Re: Introducing the new L1 Pro Family!

Hi all,

Thank you all for your comments on this thread, I'm happy to see this product announcement met with such enthusiasm!
 

Regarding use of the T1 ToneMatch with the L1 Pro systems: The architecture of the T1 ToneMatch differs from that of the T4S and T8S ToneMatch mixers, and is not compatible with the L1 Pro’s S/PDIF audio architecture.

The T1 ToneMatch is based on S/PDIF, but with a proprietary connection for legacy L1 products which allows them to carry other data such as firmware updates. The T4S and T8S ToneMatch mixers use an updated version of ToneMatch protocol, which is compatible with with legacy L1 products, but also fully compatible with S/PDIF. Since the L1 Pro architecture is designed to use standard S/PDIF protocol, the T1 ToneMatch cannot communicate the same way and is unable to send audio via the ToneMatch port.

Although the T1 ToneMatch is unable to send audio it can still receive power from an L1 Pro system via the ToneMatch port. In order for the the L1 Pro system to receive audio, users of the T1 ToneMatch would need to connect the analog main out of the T1 to an available input on the L1 Pro system.

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply. If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!