Dave_Hazel
Registered since

Apr 27, 2019

Re: L1 1S level fading in and out.

If we are now sharing life stories then its fair to say that Amar and I started life in a similar fashion. I was born with a spanner in one hand and an multimeter in the other with a natural talent for making and fixing things from a very young age but it stops there.

Both of my parents were white English and seemed to think the way to bring me up was to mentally and physically beat out every ounce of self-confidence I might have otherwise been born with, fully supported by being constantly told, "You are useless and will never amount to anything" or words to that effect. School was no better, somewhat Dickensian with verbal and physical abuse being common place. Therefore places of learning/studying were not places I wanted to be. Hence I am something like 90% self taught.

Nevertheless when I left school at 14 things changed, my natural affinity with electro-mechanical physics came to the forefront and by the time I was 18 I was setting benchmarks in the manufacturing quality of professional audio equipment... the rest is history as they say.

Full respect to Amar Bose who was a first class engineer born with a natural talent for the subject matter, an academic, and a successful entrepreneur. As for me you can take off academic and entrepreneur. And there is the main difference, a successful entrepreneur wants money but doesn't need it, whereas people such as I need money but don't really want it 

It's not my place to question or speculate, or cast aspersions as to why a successful entrepreneur might give away some or large portions of their acquired wealth. But lets not loose sight of the fact that whatever their motives might be there is always the additional possible side effects of tax effectiveness and improvement to the public image of a company and or individual.

Dave_Hazel
Registered since

Apr 27, 2019

Oldghm posted: