Highlighted
Registered since

Dec 16, 2019

L1 Compact - crackling noise

I'm brand new to this so let me start by saying I play about 10 to 15 gigs a month with my L1 compact for the last 8 0r 9 years. I absolutely love this system. Recently though I heard some crackling noise coming out of the unit. I set up for a gig last night and during sound check (the opening song) it sounded like my speaker bass speaker was blown. Oh **** right at the start of the gig and I "forgot" to bring a spare PA system with me. Said a short prayer to Jesus and an idea popped into my head. I normally play sitting on a stool and I place the unit behind and of to the side a few feet, and usually set it on a chair. That way I get the best monitor benefits. I only use one of the extension stacks. Done this for 8 years and it gives me the best performance because I play in some tight spots. If I have a larger space where I can put a little extra distance between my and the unit I will put in both extensions. back to my prayer LOL!  A thought popped into my head to try switching out the extension bars. I did it and the "crackling" noise was solved. Is it possible for these to fail or did I just get lucky and bought some time for the problem to raise it's ugly head again? Got me a little nervous. anybody out there have a "wrecked unit" with a spare extension stack they would like to unload? Anyone else have this issue? I love this unit and would buy another tomorrow morning if this ever got stolen or damaged.  It has made my life so much easier and I always get compliments on how great it sounds. I run my vocals through a harmonizer, then into a small behringer mixer, then into the unit. I rune my guitar through a cheap digitech RP 100 pedal and straight into the unit. Great Sound!

Steve (Firemanoly on YouTube)

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted
Registered since

Sep 29, 2019

Re: L1 Compact - crackling noise