cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Bose product name L1 Pro 8

Country Canada

Detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce

Went to the http://btu.bose.com website to download the Bose Updater. Connected the proper cable to the L1 Pro 8. Powered up the speaker. Constantly get the, "That didn't work. Refresh your browser or relaunch the Bose Updater, then try again." message.

What devices were you using that were affected and what version are they on? Windows 10 PC.

 

At some point I was able to download the BoseUpdaterInstaller_7.1.4.5023.exe file but when I launch it in my PC, it does nothing!

 

One more thing...my forum settings are set to tell me when I get a reply from another user, and yet nothing shows up in my email folders - Inbox or Junk. Why? I like to reply to those who reply and I also like to know WHEN someone has replied so I can see the answer to my question. Thanks.

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Dylan_R
Moderator

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Author Accepted Answer selected by L Batchelor

Hi all,

The Bose Updater website http://btu.bose.com has been updated and is fully functional. If you have not already, take a moment to download and install the Bose Updater. With this app, you can easily update your product and find out when new software updates are available. After you’ve installed it, you can use this website to update your products. If you’ve already installed the app, go ahead and launch.

 

Reminder that the L1 Pro systems are operational out of the box and can be used. The Bose.com/L1ProFirmware messaging included in product documentation is to ensure that customers are experiencing the latest and most up-to-date firmware with their L1 Pro system.

 

Thank you for your patience.

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply. If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!

View solution in original post

26 REPLIES 26
Fish-54
Mentor
  • 84
  • 319
  • 57
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Hello L Batchelor,

 

I had the same problem the first time I ran the updater -- it seemed like nothing happened.  A couple of hours later, I noticed a new icon in the Windows "Notification Area" (the bottom right, where the date, time, and all the running background app icons are.)  You may have to click on the little "up-arrow" icon to see all the apps.  It looks like this: HiddenIconsArrow.jpg

 

The new icon looks like this: BoseUpdaterIcon.jpg

I right-clicked it, and three menu choices appeared:

  • "Launch Bose Updater webpage"
  • "Start updater automatically during login"
  • "Exit"

I clicked on "Launch Bose Updater webpage", which prompted me to connect the USB cable to my equipment.  It didn't do anything!  So I went back to the icon, right-clicked, and chose "Exit", which closed the app and removed the icon.  I also closed the browser that was opened by the app, and disconnected the USB cable.

 

I found the Updater's program file in the Windows File Explorer at this location:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bose Updater\BOSEUPDATER.EXE"

I double-clicked on the "BOSEUPDATER" file and the icon reappeared in the Notification Area.  I right-clicked it and chose "Launch Bose Updater webpage" again, and the same browser window appeared and prompted me to connect the USB cable.  This second time, it worked!

 

After the update, I went back to the icon, right-clicked it, and unchecked the "Start updater automatically during login" line (I don't like having unused apps running the background.)  I also went back to the program file and created a shortcut for my desktop (I don't know why Bose doesn't create one for the Windows Start menu) so I can run it on-demand.

 

That's what worked for me ... whether it will work for anyone else, or was just a fluke, I don't know.

 

Does that help?

er_tushar
Contributor
  • 2
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 11, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

@Fish-54 Tried it. Didn’t work for me. 

There are multiple threads on this issue. Can someone from Bose answer when this will be fixed? Otherwise, people will keep returning otherwise good product. 

L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Many thanks for chiming in guys.

Yes, I've read some complaints about this and Bose seems happy to just sit on their hands. For a product that sounds so good, to have such an inept piece of software is beyond belief. Seems the software team aren't even house broken.

 

I found the Bose icon in the tray and will give your suggestions a try. Many thanks again!

L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Hi Fish,

 

Well I tried your suggestion and several variations on same and nothing worked. Bose REALLY needs to look into this!! Is there any way we can give them a shake? After spending $3,000 for an otherwise great product, I would have no problem returning the two speakers and looking at something else.

 

The music store I bought these from have a 30 day return policy if I'm not satisfied. They also sell HK Audio tower speakers. Perhaps I'll look at those.

 

Thanks again for trying 😉.

L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

I just watched a YouTube video of a guy trying to update his Pro 16 speakers. Same crap! One updated fine but the other one didn't, no matter what he tried. This is his fourth replacement. He's going to return both of his Pro 16s and buy EV.

KimFr
Contributor
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 14, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

I am going to just use the iPhone App and see if the L1 Pro 8 works. I would like for us all to bill Bose at $225 an hour for doing their work.

The updater never worked and is they cannot keep their firmware up to date well enough to use it, I need to just return this right away and buy something that is reliable and does not work me to death trying to use software they released that is sub par.

This is just sorry AND stupid.

L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Agreed, KimFr. I'm going to call the Bose Pro tech line tomorrow and get them to walk me through this issue. I will remind them that I have a 30 day satisfaction guarantee with the store I bought them from, and that's Long and McQuade, Canada. They have 50 stores across Canada and they buy a boatload of stuff from Bose. If Long and McQuade gets enough turn downs, Bose will lose a huge customer.

 

I'll report back my results. Thanks for chiming in 👍.

 

er_tushar
Contributor
  • 2
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 11, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

@L Batchelor I am exactly in the same boat. Purchased from Long & McQuade last week and already spent an hour with Tech Support troubleshooting. They could not make it work. I will wait for two more weeks and if they don’t fix it, I will return it. 

L Batchelor
Contributor
  • 4
  • 25
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 27, 2021

Re: L1 Pro 8 firmware updater not working!

Interesting, er_Tushar. I appreciate you telling me this. I downloaded the L1 Mix app to my Android and it works fine. I was able to choose the Keyboard General setup for both Pro 8s. I play a Yamaha Genos through these. My music buddy plays his Taylor guitar through them and does vocals. I see there are presets for Taylor guitars, which is a great feature to have. I'd hate to return these because they sound so good. I looked at the specs for the Yamaha Stagepass 1K system, but they're much heavier and I'm unsure of the sound or availability.

 

I wonder what happens when the firmware is not current? The problem seems to be in establishing a link. Since it's a hardwire connection, linking should be a no-brainer. If it was by Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, I could see where things may not work all the time.

 

Did Bose tech offer any explanation of what would happen if the firmware was not current? I think this is an important step. Thoughts?