Registered since

Apr 22, 2019

Mobile DJ use - signal clipping and distorted bass

Hello Bose Community,

I'm a hobbyist mobile DJ, mostly playing at house parties, villas, sailing boats and afterparties of tech conferences around Amsterdam. The music is bass-heavy, e.g. techno, many kinds of house etc. I'm using Traktor Kontrol Z1 as my mixer interface, running audio from my laptop, mixed in Traktor Pro 3. My secondary interface is Traktor Audio 2.

I've been owning Bose S1 Pro system for almost 6 months now, and I enjoy using it for practice sessions at home and small parties. This is when my Master level at Z1 is far from high, e.g. set at 10 o'clock on Z1, channel indicator on S1 Pro is always green. However, when taken into outside setting of a party outdoors I've been repeatedly struggling to find a well sounding setup for S1 Pro with sufficient output volume.

The configuration options I tried so far are:

• Traktor Kontrol Z1 -> 2x RCA to 3.5mm mini-jack cable (5m) -> S1 Pro Channel 3 (AUX)
  • Traktor Kontrol Z1 -> 2x RCA to XLR male cable (3m) -> S1 Pro Channel 1 (https://www.bax-shop.nl/xlr-rc...product-details.html)
  • Traktor Audio 2 -> 3.5mm mini-jack to 3.5mm mini-jack cable -> S1 Pro Channel 3 (AUX)

In all these configurations I would leave volume controls on S1 Pro at 12 o'clock and not touch any of the EQ or ToneMatch knobs. I also tried all 3 positions for S1 Pro (incl. speaker stand). I tried mostly battery-powered use, bcs. at home with power I can do with much lower volume.