Highlighted
Participant
  • 12
  • 355
  • 0
Registered since

May 18, 2019

Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Although the L1 Compact does not have a method for Bass Extensions built in, could one still use a Packlite A1 Module and a Bass Bin by placing a cable the from the L1 Compact 1/4" Balanced output into the Packlite A1?

If the Compact is putting out Full Range, then perhaps a crossover unit in between for the Bass Bin?

I know a common answer will be "You should just get an L1 Model 1 or L1 Model II w/ Bass Bins", but I'd like to stay away from that conversation, as the unit has already been purchased and fills a specific need ~ so I'm looking possible expansion options while staying Bose.

And even though a larger system will probably be in the future, I'd like to still see how much the Compact can be expanded (with in-the-box or out-of-the-box ideas).

Thanks in advance!

Tom
10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Participant
  • 1
  • 145
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2019

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

I am curious about this as well. I use a powered sub out of that output with great success, but the sub has a built in crossover to filter the different frequencies. I dont believe that the Packlite is designed that way, but would surely like to hear from some of the more experienced users.
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1415
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Hi Tom, macheted01

You will probably want a crossover between the Compact line-out and the A1 PackLite line-in.

There is no crossover or signal processing inside the A1 PackLite.

When the Compact first came out, I was interested in trying different things to augment the bass; not because I thought it needed augmentation, but because I was curious. In the end, because I already had a Model II, I just continued to use that when I needed more low-end support than the Compact could give me. That has never been because I felt that the Compact was lacking, but rather, because I needed to cover a larger area.

If you don't have crossover, you can use a T1® (if you have one) to send mostly low-end frequencies to the A1 PackLite but creatively using the T1 ToneMatch® Audio Engine Aux Output.

I'm sure that a couple of people here are doing that and if we are lucky, someone will chime in with the settings and their report about the results.
Highlighted
Advocate
  • 43
  • 4619
  • 0
Registered since

May 16, 2017

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Hi Tom,

Like ST, I tried the Packlite and B1s with the Compact as well, directly from the Compact's Line Out.
As ST says, the lack of crossover lets too much higher frequency sounds into the B1s, and it's not pretty.
I hunted all over for a small, usable crossover to no avail, and did not want to lug around a rack module.
The only little crossovers I found were mere circuit boards with strip connectors...not really road worthy.

I have not tried the T1's Para EQ to get rid of the highs (on a single channel), basically, I gave up on the idea.
I had wanted it to make the Compact better for my Porchboard floor bass, but it never happened.
The Model II with a single B1 sounds much better.
Highlighted
Participant
  • 12
  • 355
  • 0
Registered since

May 18, 2019

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

quote:
Originally posted by ST:
Hi Tom, macheted01

You will probably want a crossover between the Compact line-out and the A1 PackLite line-in.

There is no crossover or signal processing inside the A1 PackLite.

When the Compact first came out, I was interested in trying different things to augment the bass; not because I thought it needed augmentation, but because I was curious. In the end, because I already had a Model II, I just continued to use that when I needed more low-end support than the Compact could give me. That has never been because I felt that the Compact was lacking, but rather, because I needed to cover a larger area.

If you don't have crossover, you can use a T1® (if you have one) to send mostly low-end frequencies to the A1 PackLite but creatively using the T1 ToneMatch® Audio Engine Aux Output.

I'm sure that a couple of people here are doing that and if we are lucky, someone will chime in with the settings and their report about the results.


Thanks ST & Drumr!

My thinking was that I had to carry in the PackLite and Bass Module anyway, I could create a "rack mount" situation where I could carry the Packlite and Crossover in a small Rack Case.

Hadn't thought of the ParaEQ feature on the T1.d

But while we're on that subject, if I had an old PA head and 15" speaker, could I just roll off all the highs on that and use in a subwoofer configuration? (Just exploring other options too! - Believe me, with the sound of the Compact, I've definitely got the larger units in mind for times when the $$ can be spent w/o sacrificing my other obligations)

Thanks again!

Tom
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1415
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Hi Tom,

quote:
Originally posted by Tom the Guitar guy:
...

But while we're on that subject, if I had an old PA head and 15" speaker, could I just roll off all the highs on that and use in a subwoofer configuration? (Just exploring other options too! - Believe me, with the sound of the Compact, I've definitely got the larger units in mind for times when the $$ can be spent w/o sacrificing my other obligations)

Thanks again!

Tom


You can try that old PA head and 15" speaker... If you do that, try to get the 15" speaker really close (touching) the Compact power stand. This will help you to avoid Multiple Source Interference. This advice is also applicable if you are using a B1 Bass module and an A1 PackLite.
Highlighted
Participant
  • 12
  • 355
  • 0
Registered since

May 18, 2019

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

quote:
Originally posted by ST:
Hi Tom,

quote:
Originally posted by Tom the Guitar guy:
...

But while we're on that subject, if I had an old PA head and 15" speaker, could I just roll off all the highs on that and use in a subwoofer configuration? (Just exploring other options too! - Believe me, with the sound of the Compact, I've definitely got the larger units in mind for times when the $$ can be spent w/o sacrificing my other obligations)

Thanks again!

Tom


You can try that old PA head and 15" speaker... If you do that, try to get the 15" speaker really close (touching) the Compact power stand. This will help you to avoid Multiple Source Interference. This advice is also applicable if you are using a B1 Bass module and an A1 PackLite.


Thanks ST!

A little off topic, is this Multiple Source Interference only with the Bose L1 stuff because of the wide array? I'm just trying to figure out why a conventional system running two speaker cabs (or more) doesn't experience the same thing?

Or perhaps they do, but I've just been fortunate to not have experienced it.

Tom
Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1415
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Hi Tom,

quote:
Originally posted by Tom the Guitar guy:
...

A little off topic, is this Multiple Source Interference only with the Bose L1 stuff because of the wide array? I'm just trying to figure out why a conventional system running two speaker cabs (or more) doesn't experience the same thing?

Or perhaps they do, but I've just been fortunate to not have experienced it.

Tom


You have to watch out for this Multiple Source Interference issue with low frequencies regardless of the manufacturer. The lower frequency cabinets are usually omnidirectional so the sound emanating from two cabinets can overlap. That's where the problems come in... when the sound waves overlap and interact.

This also explains why you don't tend to have the same issue with conventional loudspeakers at higher frequencies. The typical point source loudspeakers have relatively narrow horizontal dispersion so you actually needed more than one to cover a room. That also explains why there was not a lot of overlap in the coverage. The L1®s have relatively wide horizontal dispersion so you don't need two or more to cover a room. If you use two or more L1®s in close proximity, you do get the overlap in coverage and with that comes the possibility of multiple source interference.

Cliff-at-Bose talks about this here: Avoid Dual Mono

Does that help?
Highlighted
Participant
  • 12
  • 355
  • 0
Registered since

May 18, 2019

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Thanks for the explanation. I figured as much, but it's always nice to have the thought reinforced!

Tom
Highlighted
Member
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 29, 2016

Re: Packlite A1 Module - Use with a L1 Compact

Hello Bose Mates! I just bought the A1 pack lite amp to power 1 B2 sub or 2 B1 subs with my L1 Compact system. Do I need a crossover coming out of the 1/4" output on the L1 Compact to get maximum signal to the A1 to the B2? If so, what frequency should it use? Thanks and Bose-ON...DrTunes!