Highlighted
Contributor
  • 3
  • 17
  • 0
Registered since

May 8, 2019

S1 Pro - adding effects

Thank you all for your comments. Now that I started thinking about it more, I'd like to ask another similar question. I think I read somewhere that if I want to insert an effect between my guitar and S1 Pro, it's preferable to use some effects other than traditional analog stompboxes that you would use with a traditional guitar amp. Is it true and if so, can somebody explain why? And if it's true, I suppose it's again preferable just sonically, and not at all because S1 wouldn't like it?

Thanks again, you're very kind 

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

I’m not sure what you’re referring to, but I’ve been playing my acoustic guitar through a pedalboard with stomp boxes for chorus, digital delay, tuner, and preamp with boost for years with my L1M2 and since I got my S1.

They sound fine and work very well with the clean, transparent sound of the Bose. For vocals we just use a touch of reverb either from our mixer or what’s on the S1. 

Highlighted
Member
  • 44
  • 109
  • 0
Registered since

Jul 19, 2018

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

I use my Digitech and BBE pedal board with my S1 Pro and Compact all the time. Sounds great! 

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1412
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

Hi nightoul,

Are you using an electric guitar or an acoustic guitar?

ST

Highlighted
Participant
  • 235
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

Older stomp boxes (pre-2000) had a well deserved reputation for adding lots of noise between the guitar and the amp.

Modern stomp boxes rarely add much noise to the line.  I've run up to 6 or 7 of them (budget priced and high-end expensive ones chained together) with no perceptible noise coming out of the system even with all of them enabled and the guitar turned up.

Highlighted
Member
  • 89
  • 356
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 13, 2018

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

I like to use some basic amp modeling with other electric guitar effects, @nightoul . An inexpensive, but effective option is a Behringer GDI21. An electric guitar cabinet has a punchy mid-range, while the Bose S1 Pro is a clean PA. I carry a Line6 Pocket Pod to use when playing through PA systems at venues for my electric guitars. The GDI21 also has balanced XLR out to run longer lines through snakes, with less signal loss.

Highlighted
Contributor
  • 3
  • 17
  • 0
Registered since

May 8, 2019

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

ST posted:

Hi nightoul,

Are you using an electric guitar or an acoustic guitar?

ST

Primarily acoustic but would like to try both. I haven't really tried any effects yet because I was a bit unsure as S1 Pro is one of the most expensive pieces of gear I've bought so far so as you can see I'm really overprotective . What I'd like to know is why somebody would recommend to avoid stompboxes and if what they meant could be just sonic reasons and not hurting S1 Pro, or if they could mean both.

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1412
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

Hi nightoul,

nightoul posted:
ST posted:

Hi nightoul,

Are you using an electric guitar or an acoustic guitar?

ST

Primarily acoustic but would like to try both. 

The reason I asked:

  • Electric Guitar
    The traditional sound of electric guitars is as heard through an electric guitar amplifier. Many stomp box effects are intended to be connected to, and rely on an electric guitar amplifier to sound right.  For electric guitar to sound as people expect, you probably want guitar amp simulator between the electric guitar and the S1 Pro. Then you can use stomp boxes and get some great results. There are multi-effect processors that have amp simulators built-in. I have tried lots of guitar effects processors and appreciate the simplicity (compared to separate effects boxes). Right now I use a Boss GT-1 with my S1 Pro for simple shows.  The Boss GT-1 can run on batteries so I can use it anywhere I use the S1 Pro. For more demanding shows I use a Kemper Profiling Amp.
  • Acoustic Guitars
    can sound fine without a dedicated guitar amplifier. Effects pedals like reverb, delay, EQ, chorus, modulation can also be run between an acoustic guitar and a PA (like the S1 Pro) and sound fine.



I haven't really tried any effects yet because I was a bit unsure as S1 Pro is one of the most expensive pieces of gear I've bought so far so as you can see I'm really overprotective . What I'd like to know is why somebody would recommend to avoid stompboxes and if what they meant could be just sonic reasons and not hurting S1 Pro, or if they could mean both.

My guess; sonic reasons.  Any stompbox you can put between a guitar and a guitar amp or PA system should work fine. It may just not sound great.



Does that help?
ST

Highlighted
Member
  • 43
  • 211
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 29, 2018

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

First Bose's effects are adequate not great. Second your internal effects are routed through amp and preamp and there again. Third you are stuck with Bose's EQ which is a must for psychoacoustics timing and environmental needs for the reflection. Take a look at the 901s they come with a big box for adjusting EQs because you can not control the sonic reflections in rooms. Today pedals are of studio recording quality, quiet and far better quality then you can find in any amp. Today you can combine pedals in serial and in parallel plus you have a dry and wet mix, meaning you can take your guitar signal dry out and wet (effects) out another out to control how much wet you want with your guitar sound. This is not volume this is guitar combined with effects mix. You can play in true stereo and or play wet dry wet if you choose. Boss just came out with fine studio pedals to play live or use in recording. Fender just put out a new series which is fantastic. Bose is not aimed for the pros just for the newbies or for someone needing small and light for transport, today many high quality amps ring in at 23 pounds or less with more options on them and more bass. Many claim that watts is misunderstood but the reality is a 30 watt amp has less headroom than from a 100 watt amp. The amp with less headroom distorts on demand.  So that clean sound we want from bose can not be maintained if it clips with volume and you get distortion.  You can choose through pedals and have total control of these effects the type and how many you want. In short your amp sound will sound better than any on board effects.

I like to go direct on my S1. I place a plastic pvc tube to disengage the auto EQ. Use my own EQ (and Boss just introduced a new EQ that is so studio quality) in a pedal, I like my effects in parallel for wet and buffered and my distortions drive, flange, fuzz, not buffered because those depend on direct input from the pick up in the guitar. There are over a thousand reasons why the pros use pedals. No pros will use the on board effects.

 

An aside - Behringer makes 98% of all parts going into all electronic equipment so every boutique pedal or EH, Boss, Fender,  is the sum of its parts, which equals Behringer.  Don't sell Behringer short you hear them everywhere.

Highlighted
Advisor
  • 141
  • 3522
  • 4
Registered since

May 25, 2004

Re: S1 Pro - adding effects

Hi ccc,

I don't always understand everything you write about, and I do not play electric, or use effects pedals, so no comment there, however there is one bit of misinformation or misunderstanding in this post I will address.

Using the pvc to activate the pole insert switch does not defeat Bose EQ, it does defeat the multi position auto change of the accelerometer, but by engaging the pole socket switch you have engaged an EQ curve specifically designed for the more open space usually utilized with a stand mounted speaker.

Because EQ is subjective you, and others, may prefer this pole mount EQ for your use and there is no harm done by using it. 

O..