Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
docscott
Participant
Registered since

Mar 3, 2007

Small corner setup

Hi all - this is my first post:

I've been running an L1 with one bass module for our duo for the past two months and we've experienced mixed results depending on the room setup.

We're running through a Mackie mixer with two mic's, an I-pod backtrack, and two guitar inputs. We change instruments frequently (acoustic, electric, banjo, bass), so running through a Mackie mixer with a line out to the L1 seemed like the easiest to manage.

We've been able to achieve outstanding results when we are on a stage (compared to ground level) with the L1 between us and back 6-7 ft and we are separated by at least 5 ft. This puts us off axis and we don't get feedback. The sound is crisp, we can hear ourselves perfectly and the sound fills the room - we've gotten many compliments from long term listeners who say this is the best we've ever sounded.

We are having trouble when we play in small venues in limited space and on floor level. The worst is in a bar & grill where we have very limited space in a corner - we can only get the L1 back about 3-4 ft, and we are not separated by more than a few feet. We are on floor level with tables immediately in front of us. We struggle with feedback due to the proximity, so we can't get enough gain (plus the volume in our ears becomes too loud). In the back of the room, customers can't make out what we are saying or singing and the general sound is muffled - I assume because the bottom half of the tower is being blocked by us and the first row of tables. Our critical listening group says our old Peavey system sounded much better in this settiing (we were using an SP5G on a stand pointed at the middle of the room with a Peavey floor monitor pointed at us).