John_Nguyen
Member
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 29, 2019

Stereo Output for T4S

Hi Everyone.

I searched around and couldn't find much information regard to what I'm looking for, so please help. Thanks

I'm using T4S and 2 of L1 MII w B2. I'm having 2 mics as chanel 1&2 and audio output from TV ( Optical out convert to RCA L/R then to XLR into T4S) as chanel #3 & 4.  Both of my L1s are playing the same audio just as they're mono, regardless of the source is playing only on Left or Right.

1) What do I need to have audio from TV going into my mixer T4S to play both L1s as stereo? What cables i need? please post pic of the cable you would recommend. TY

2) Additionally, down the road, I'd like to add 2 rear speakers to make it like home theater. What speakers, modules, mixer or whatever i need to get this done?

I know there are alot of cheaper alternative for home theater, But i'm using the current set up as Home Karaoke system.

Thanks much

 

9 REPLIES 9
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1417
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Hi, John Nguyen.

Welcome to the Bose Portable PA Community.

John Nguyen posted:

Hi Everyone.

I searched around and couldn't find much information regard to what I'm looking for, so please help. Thanks

I'm using T4S and 2 of L1 MII w B2. I'm having 2 mics as chanel 1&2 and audio output from TV ( Optical out convert to RCA L/R then to XLR into T4S) as chanel #3 & 4.  Both of my L1s are playing the same audio just as they're mono, regardless of the source is playing only on Left or Right.

1) What do I need to have audio from TV going into my mixer T4S to play both L1s as stereo?

It sounds like your connections are okay, but you need to set the PAN controls for channels 3 and 4.

If you have connected the left signal to channel 3 and the right signal to channel 4 then

Press CHEDIT for channel 3.

Turn the Rotary Selector to PAN/AUX

Turn the Pan knob all the way to the left.

Press CHEDIT for channel 4.

Turn the Rotary Selector to PAN/AUX

Turn the Pan knob all the way to the right.



What cables i need? please post pic of the cable you would recommend. TY

It sounds like the cables you are using are fine.

2) Additionally, down the road, I'd like to add 2 rear speakers to make it like home theater. What speakers, modules, mixer or whatever i need to get this done?

I know there are alot of cheaper alternative for home theater, But i'm using the current set up as Home Karaoke system.

Thanks much

You'll need some kind of home theater signal decoder or receiver. Let's hope someone else can help with that.

ST

ScubaBadger
Enthusiast
  • 67
  • 305
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 16, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Understanding you want to use 3&4 as music inputs, but I’d use 5/6 in stereo mode and have two more mic channels.

All down to preferences though ??

John_Nguyen
Member
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 29, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Thanks so much for the reply ST. I was able to do what you told and get what i wanted.

 

John_Nguyen
Member
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 29, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Thanks so much for your reply ST. I was able to do what you told and got what i wanted.

John_Nguyen
Member
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 29, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

ScubaBadger posted:

Understanding you want to use 3&4 as music inputs, but I’d use 5/6 in stereo mode and have two more mic channels.

All down to preferences though ??

 

 

 

Hey. Thanks for the inputs

if i opt to go with chanel 5/6 as you stated. How do i set the pan for the audio signal on right goes to the right speaker (same as left)?

i’m not very concern about freeing up the 2 chanel 3&4 so much since i don't really see myself adding more input into my t4s, BUT if having my audio source going through chanel 5&6 help my mixer set my audio output as stereo to both L1s automatically (without going through PAN setting), i’ll be glad to do so.

I noticed they’re 1/4 inputs for chanel 5&6, which 1/4 connector is good since i noticed there are 2 different types?

 

btw scubabadger, any idea relate to how to set this up for home theater? 

thanks

JN

ScubaBadger
Enthusiast
  • 67
  • 305
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 16, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Turn master control selector to PAN/AUX

PRESS THE Menu / Pan on the left

Scroll down to Aux In 5/6 and select it

you will be given the two buttons on the right below the screen saying either level or pan with a grey up/down arrow beside there screen images.

The highlighted white mode is the one you are on, press each button until PAN highlights then turn each button appropriately.

Once done save that as a scene you can recall.

I have following scenes saved;

1: single column mono full left and right panned to the right - all mics panned right.

2: Twin column mono (two columns receiving left and right). Can put each column in separate rooms and run different master volumes still getting full signal to each.

3: Twin column stereo left getting left and ....

Hope it helps

John_Nguyen
Member
  • 0
  • 6
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 29, 2019

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Thanks Scubabadger for the details reply. 

I'll try to get all my setting good before i'll save the scene for each situation.

 

CrisCre
Participant
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 19, 2021

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Hello everyone, I’m kind or new to Bose Mixers and PA systems and definitely a "beginner"

I’m planning to buy a T4S and 2 S1 Pro to use as stereo outputs. I’ve heard the setup at a gig and sounded just great.

 

We usually have this config:

1 Stage Piano 

2 Guitars

2 Vocals

 

I would connect the piano to input 5&6 for stereo input, the 2 mikes to inputs 1&2 and the 2 guitars to inputs 3-4

I would need the piano in stereo to go both to the 2 Bose S1 Pro (mixed with vocals & Instruments, still maintaining the stereo output) and to separate stereo piano monitors (this time only the piano with no effects or other mixed instruments)

All other instruments and vocals should sound on both S1Pros

 

I will need to use an AC adapter, thus getting rid of one of the main T4S outputs.

 

My question is..can I use the 2 sets of aux outputs (L&R + 1&2) to achieve this configuration?

 

I was thinking of using:

- aux outputs L&R to connect the 2 S1 Pro in stereo as main PA system (with Stereo Piano, + EQ & FX for piano vocals and guitars)

- aux outputs 1&2 to send back the piano input the the specific piano monitors 

 

Thanks a lot for any help and sorry if I wrote something that doesn’t make quite sense!

Fish-54
Advocate
  • 22
  • 66
  • 7
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: Stereo Output for T4S

Hello ChisCre,

 

Essentially, you are correct.  What you refer to as "aux outputs L&R" (connection #4 on page 7 of the T4S/T8S Owner's Guide) are analog main outputs, rather than "aux" outputs.  They provide exactly the same signal as the two digital connections, for those who are connecting to analog-only sound systems (as opposed to L1 Model II, L1 Model 1s, or L1 Pro systems with ToneMatch ports.)  They output the master mix and are controlled by the master volume.

 

Aux ports 1 & 2 (connection #5 on page 7 of the T4S/T8S Owner's Guide) are separate individual mono signals controlled by the Aux/Pan settings described on page 21 of the T4S/T8S Owner's Guide.

 

Does that help?