Notice

The Bose Community Forum was launched at a time when robust online support was not available for Bose customers. Over the past several years we have added new online service channels that provide a more interactive and complete digital experience. Additionally, we have enhanced the My Bose Account capabilities to deliver a more personalized and self-service experience. As a result, Bose has made the decision to close Community Forum for Consumer electronics products on September 30th. The Bose Pro portion of the Community will still operate as usual.


Please visit our support homepage to experience one of our many other digital service channels or simply use your Community log-in credentials to sign in to your My Bose Account to view your orders and view support options.


Thank you to all who have contributed and benefited from interacting in our Community. We look forward to continuing to serve you online.


Regards,
Bose Customer Service Team
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dr_Mike
Contributor
  • 0
  • 15
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 22, 2018

T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

When I connect a single balanced 1/4 inch cable to the Right/Mono out from the T8S to the analogue input on the LI.... 

Inputs 2 and 3 are from Mainstage via my MacBook Pro via a 1/8th inch output from the Mac to 2 Quarter Inch in's to channel 2/3 of the T8S.

If I PAN channel 2 to the LEFT, it goes away completely in the LI--If I pan it RIGHT, it gets louder. (Same is tru if I use either one of the XLR OUTS)

Shouldn't there be a way to get a MONO sound from the T8S to the LI? Ok, yes, I can pan both channels 2 and 3 Hard RIGHT, BUT... then I want to send Aux 1 and 2 to the House PA--and the FOH engineer wants Mainstage panned Hard Right and Hard Left for his FOH imaging. But if I do that, then I'm only going to hear one side of Mainstage through the LI. Of course I can also use BOTH outputs and connect another speaker---this seems to be possibly the best solution--it's just more gear, and really I find the LI sounds fine by itself. Maybe I should just leave both channels 2/3 panned to the Center---but then I guess the FOH is not getting a true stereo spread.

Thoughts please? Thanks in advance.

6 REPLIES 6
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Hi Dr.Mike,

You're using the one of the 1/4" (6.3mm) output for your L1 and both XLR Outputs for the Front Of House.  The 1/4" (6.3mm) Outputs (left and right) and the XLR Outputs are clones.  They can't be configured separately (e.g., mono on 1/4" (6.3mm) and stereo XLR.

We spoke about this in your other thread

Best way to record output of keyboards and Mainstage from T8S?

Normally, you can configure one of the Aux outputs to be mono, but you're using all four of them for recording.

Dr.Mike posted:
? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ?
Maybe I should just leave both channels 2/3 panned to the Center---but then I guess the FOH is not getting a true stereo spread.


Is the Front Of House running stereo?

ST

Dr_Mike
Contributor
  • 0
  • 15
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 22, 2018

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Thanks for your reply.  I just thought I would start a new thread for this stereo mono issue.  Actually I have decided that it is best to use the auxiliary outputs 1/2 to send to the front of house. That way the volume of my main out is not tied to the recording or live sound. And I can easily give myself a little boost if needed in the heat of battle. So you’re saying that I could configure one aux out to be mono? (I don’t know why part of this reply is in a grey block—lol) What is the best volume settings for the aux sends—default is 50% I believe. I don’t think it would be as convenient to use an aux for my monitoring with the L1. Not as easy to make small tweaks to levels while leaving the house sound levels alone. I guess my question is why is one output marked mono when it seems to be just half of a stereo send? Would the issue be the same with the rj45 output on the smaller mixers or is this unique to the T8S?  Thank you.

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Hi Dr.Mike,

Dr.Mike posted:

Thanks for your reply.  I just thought I would start a new thread for this stereo mono issue.  Actually I have decided that it is best to use the auxiliary outputs 1/2 to send to the front of house. That way the volume of my main out is not tied to the recording or live sound. And I can easily give myself a little boost if needed in the heat of battle.

Sure, I understand the heat of the battle. 

So you’re saying that I could configure one aux out to be mono? (I don’t know why part of this reply is in a grey block—lol).

Each Aux output is mono. You can send any or all channels 1-8 to any Aux output. If you send all the channels, then you'll have one mono output.

What is the best volume settings for the aux sends—default is 50% I believe.

This depends on the gain staging of the device at the other end. 50% is good place to start.

I don’t think it would be as convenient to use an aux for my monitoring with the L1. Not as easy to make small tweaks to levels while leaving the house sound levels alone.

This is the heat of battle thing again.

 I guess my question is why is one output marked mono when it seems to be just half of a stereo send?

If you pan everything up the middle (or hard right), you're running mono. Then you can can get a mono signal from the 1/4" (6.3mm) output marked Mono.

You're right, you can't treat the inputs as stereo (pan some inputs hard left, and some hard right), and get a mono signal out of the just one of the Main outputs.

Would the issue be the same with the rj45 output on the smaller mixers or is this unique to the T8S?  Thank you.

The T1 is a mono device (no pan, only one Master Output).

The T4S functions the same way as the T8S, except that it has fewer inputs and only two Aux outputs. The T4S Right RJ45 output will be mono if you pan everything up the middle (or hard right),

To deal with the heat of the moment changes, you might consider a Mackie Big Knob Passive

I haven't researched it thoroughly, but it looks promising.

Check out the Owner's Manual.

ST

Dr_Mike
Contributor
  • 0
  • 15
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 22, 2018

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Man, thanks so much for the detailed replies! I really appreciate the feedback. I think I'm beginning to understand the T8S better. While the "Big Knob" is interesting--I would prefer not to add more gear into the mix. And I guess I could experiment with using one of the auxes for my mono out (and just get used to tweaking the Aux gain out "in the heat of the battle")---but it seems to make more sense to maybe just add another speaker to my set up if I'm going to run Stereo, and send a stereo pair (of auxes) to the FOH. As you alluded to I'm not exactly convinced they are truly running stereo in the FOH anyway--LOL.  Also, I guess if I leave everything panned to center, or hard right, then the FOH would really just need one aux send..? AnywayI do like the idea of adding a second speaker like another LI or one of the other Bose options--suggestions? That way I could run in stereo. And the FOH could have the OPTION of getting stereo signal. Couldn't they also just tap off of each of my outputs with a DI before it reaches my T8S? (Sometimes I use more than 5 or 6 inputs)---It seems I shouldn't have to think about this so much and I could just do my job in creating a good sound on stage--and let them do their job of getting the signals to the FOH--ahhh---if only... a guy can dream! (Occasionally we do run into these elusive "dream sound engineers"---and it is truly a treat!!!!

Angie_Sublime
Contributor
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

May 8, 2019

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Yes you are right - the T8 Right ‘Mono’ Out is not summed mono.   This is a huge oversight and I asked Bose whether this can be rectified .   Having no stereo channels with an assigned attenuator for a playback device means you need to burn 2 channels (y cable) panned right to get the full ‘mono’ signal.  Another oversight .....  hmmmm....  

I was looking for an 8 channel digital console with actual sliders (not ipad app driven ). Great idea Bose but......not quite there yet.

I wonder what the next model will look like ....me feels I jumped in too soon ..

Other problems:

White noise hiss despite low levels on amplifier trim (less than 12 o’clock) using balanced TRS cable from Right mono out to analogue input on L1 Model 2 amp AND barely sending signal from Main Output with channel input gain set no where near clip.  This setup should be a perfect match 

Bose service back up has been nothing but awesome and are currently investigating this and other problems for me ....

Ill keep ya posted on their progress 

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: T8S to LI -- The Main Out Does Not Have A Mono Option -- Does it?

Hi, Angie Sublime.

Angie Sublime posted:
? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ? - ?

White noise hiss despite low levels on amplifier trim (less than 12 o’clock) using balanced TRS cable from Right mono out to analogue input on L1 Model 2 amp AND barely sending signal from Main Output with channel input gain set no where near clip.  This setup should be a perfect match

Please see my reply to your other post about the white noise.

T8S to L1 Model II noise and inputs

Thanks,

ST