cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wfsjr2
Contributor
  • 4
  • 18
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 30, 2019

T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Unit was working perfectly. We get to the gig tonight, and suddenly we're having to set volumes individually....the master volume is not working at all.  Completely turned to 0 and the music is loud and clear.  No master volume at all. What's up with this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Author Accepted Answer selected by wfsjr2

Hi wfs,

wfs posted:

Unit was working perfectly. We get to the gig tonight, and suddenly we're having to set volumes individually....the master volume is not working at all.  Completely turned to 0 and the music is loud and clear.  No master volume at all. What's up with this?

It sounds like you have the Master Output set to Pre Master Volume.

To check or change this

  1. Turn the Rotary Selector to Prefs
  2. In the menu choose Master Out
  3. Select Post Master Volume


If that doesn't solve the problem, is it possible you had the powered loudspeaker connected to the Aux output(s)

instead of the Main output(s)?

Please let us know.

Thanks,

ST

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Author Accepted Answer selected by wfsjr2

Hi wfs,

wfs posted:

Unit was working perfectly. We get to the gig tonight, and suddenly we're having to set volumes individually....the master volume is not working at all.  Completely turned to 0 and the music is loud and clear.  No master volume at all. What's up with this?

It sounds like you have the Master Output set to Pre Master Volume.

To check or change this

  1. Turn the Rotary Selector to Prefs
  2. In the menu choose Master Out
  3. Select Post Master Volume


If that doesn't solve the problem, is it possible you had the powered loudspeaker connected to the Aux output(s)

instead of the Main output(s)?

Please let us know.

Thanks,

ST

View solution in original post

snafu
Participant
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2021

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Hello all, I have the same issue - I have a T8S and the master volume was not working.  I actually had no master output in the preferences, so I updated the firmware to the latest,.  Now I have the master output and its set to Post Master Volume but still no master volume control, but I have output.  I have connected to both a L1 with the TRS and a compact with XLR.  Any help would be great.  

Fish-54
Mentor
  • 84
  • 319
  • 57
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Hello snafu,

 

Did you do a factory reset after updating the firmware?  (That's not specifically highlighted in the firmware update instructions.)

 

If you have saved any particular presets or scenes, be sure to back them up prior to the reset.  (That's in the instructions linked above.)

 

Does that help?

snafu
Participant
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2021

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Thanks, you had my hopes up but I did a factory reset, V1.1.4 firmware and still no master volume.  

 

At post master the output ~60% output and slightly lower volume (when I use pre-master at 50% channel fader) so I know the preferences are changing.   The volume knob seems good and the unit is almost brand new.

 

Any other suggestions - I try it.

Thanks

Fish-54
Mentor
  • 84
  • 319
  • 57
Registered since

Aug 1, 2010

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Hello snafu,

 

Sorry that didn't work for you.

 

Is the T8s new to you, or have you had it a while and the settings suddenly changed on you?

 

Some questions for troubleshooting:

  • What instruments/keyboards/electronics are plugged into channels 1-8?
  • Is anything connected to Aux ins 9 or 10?
  • Are you connecting any sound sources to the USB port?  If so, is your USB routed to Master or to Channels 7 and/or 8?

You say you have connected an L1 Model II with the TRS and a Compact with XLR.

  • Are you always using these simultaneously, or did you just try each individually for testing?
  • Are you running the L1 Model II's analog input trim at about 9 o'clock and the Compact at about 10 o'clock?  (You should use the Compact's 1/4" TRS input rather than its XLR input.)
  • Can you verify that you are using the T8s Main Outs as identified in the bottom picture of ST - Pro's reply above?

Can you verify that each input's trim controls are properly gain staged?  (Gain staging instructions here.)

 

Silly question, but I've still got to ask (because I've done it...):  You are using the large "Master" volume knob and not the small "Phones" knob?

 

If all those settings are correct and you still can't control the volume with the Master knob, you probably need to contact Bose directly for assistance:

 

Bose® Product & Technical Support at (877) 335-2673
(U.S. and Canada only)
Monday-Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM ET

 

snafu
Participant
  • 0
  • 4
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2021

Re: T8s mixer.....master volume has no effect on volume

Thanks again for the reply. Very helpful and insightful. You have to try it all to rule it all out. + I know more about this equipment having on through the troubleshooting.

 

I called Bose and while on hold for a "very long time", I tried to push down on the knob when turning and low and behold the pot engaged.  Clearly a faulty POT.  I'll send in to get fixed.

 

This T8S is 2018 but fairly unused and I have only used it for one gig and in my home studio and did not notice volume problems, (and I think I would have) but I did not run it though all the tests.  I keep it in a hardcase with the cover on.