cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mangoa
Member
  • 1
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2012

Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi,
I would like to use the Tonematch as an audio interface through my computer so I can work with headphones.
I have set both channels in 'USB to PC' to Master and in Reason have selected DX primary driver and 48KHz but still don't get any input in the software. I also tried to use the T1 with Audacity (48KHz / 24-bit Windows directsound or MME) but also there no sound although I see the Bose Audio input. What am I forgetting?
13 REPLIES 13
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi mangoa,

Thank you for joining the Forum.

The USB to PC output is post-fader. Do you have the volume controls turned up?

mangoa
Member
  • 1
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2012

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Yes I have them turned up.
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi mangoa,

Please check out these notes: T1® Recording with Audacity.

Is there anything there that helps?
mangoa
Member
  • 1
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2012

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Thanks for the tip. I got it to work with Audacity but the latency is terrible (MME driver). What I really wanted to do was practice with headphones using the T1. I have a headphone amp that accepts stereo TRS line level inputs. Does the T1 master output work with a stereo TRS cable? Then my problem is solved.
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi mangoa,

The short answer: This should be okay with headphones. I do it on occasion.


If you were to amplify the signal through loudspeakers as though was stereo - well that won't work very well because the Tip and Ring outputs are 180° out of phase. You won't notice it with headphones but you would if you amplify the signals in the air.

Does that help?
mangoa
Member
  • 1
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2012

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

You said you use the T1 with headphones on occasion. Do you use a stereo cable between the T1 and the headphone amplifier?
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi mangoa,

I plug the headphones straight into the T1®. It's not loud, but loud enough for what I need it to do.

If your headphone amplifier input is a ¼ inch jack Tip-Ring=Sleeve stereo think it will probably be okay.
mangoa
Member
  • 1
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Mar 22, 2012

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi ST,

I plugged the headphones straight into the T1 and as you said it is loud enough. Problem solved. Thank you very much!
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1430
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tonematch to Computer via USB

Hi mangoa,

Glad that worked out for you. If you have a minute, please tell us about your music.