Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jeremyg1
Registered since

Mar 26, 2007

Turbo Tax number for DJ's?

Hey guys,

I use good old turbo tax to do my business taxes. I've been using it for a couple years and what bugs me is I use a generic id code for "professional ID code". This comes with some down falls because there's no specific deduction categories set up for a DJ. I have to lump everything in one category, per turbo tax recommendations.

Question is, if any of you are using turbo tax, do you know a Professional id code specifically for a DJ?
9 REPLIES 9
Media4u2
Registered since

Jan 31, 2008

Re: Turbo Tax number for DJ's?

The number is 711510. It is for actors, performers, and others, including “ Disc jockeys, independent.“ Hope this helps!
jeremyg1
Registered since

Mar 26, 2007

thanks buddy..

I'll compare that to the one I've been using.
jeremyg1
Registered since

Mar 26, 2007

Question:

Do you guys write off your tux's and suit's?

I know this is a gray area. . . IRS states, you can't be able to wear it in a "every day" setting.
Media4u2
Registered since

Jan 31, 2008

quote:
Originally posted by Jeremy G.:
Question:

Do you guys write off your tux's and suit's?

I know this is a gray area. . . IRS states, you can't be able to wear it in a "every day" setting.

The tux and cleaning can be written off, as a tux is not considered "everyday wear" but "specialty clothing" not unlike a uniform. However, a suit is NOT deductible, as it can be worn in "everyday" settings.

You can write off shirts and caps and jackets with your logo on them as advertising, however, since you are advertising your business when you wear that clothing.
jeremyg1
Registered since

Mar 26, 2007

Thanks again for the info. . .

I'm actually getting back $500. . first time I will be getting money back since 1999.
Media4u2
Registered since

Jan 31, 2008

quote:
Originally posted by Jeremy G.:
Thanks again for the info. . .