keyboardken
Contributor
  • 9
  • 21
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 17, 2020

Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

At the moment I play a Tyros 5 through a single L1 compact, will I get a better sound if I use the T1 tone match or would I be better getting a stereo mixer to play the keyboard through 



Edit Subject: Previously "L1 Compact"
Bose Pro Community Admin 

17 REPLIES 17
gid234ok@live.co.uk
Contributor
  • 5
  • 18
  • 0
Registered since

Aug 26, 2018

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi,if this is any help to you,i also play a Tyros 5 connected to Midi Accordion & vocals.I have not actually had my Bose system for long,but i will be taking it out for the first time tomorrow..Mine is L1 Model 2 with a T4S Tone match mixer,i plug my voice into channel 1 & the Tyros into channel 2,to me it is a great sound,perhaps after tomorrows gig i may be able to tell you more & perhaps it may be beneficial to us to keep in contact.I live right down in SW Cornwall in the UK..Please let me know if you think it may be beneficial for us to exchange Email addresses & i will gladly give you my email address,bye for now..Gideon

Esparka
Participant
  • 2
  • 61
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 25, 2005

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Please update your experience attempting to achieve your sound using the L1 (compact) direct.   Keyboard has been the most challenging instrument for me thru the years. I have owned the Bose PAS since 2004, since the beginning.    I have a Yamaha Motif ES8.  I never could achieve a proper sound plugging direct.  Playing with a full electric band just did not cut it.  Our keyboard player used to play with the Grateful Dead, so you can imagine my need to solve the problem was all too real. A proper keyboard amp, run either direct or miked was necessary for us to ever get a proper bite which would be able to cut through the sound.  

Believe you me, I tried everything over the years that band was together. I have entries on this forum archives from when I was doing the work. 

Thanks in advance for your response,

ken

keyboardken
Contributor
  • 9
  • 21
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 17, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Gideon posted:

Hi,if this is any help to you,i also play a Tyros 5 connected to Midi Accordion & vocals.I have not actually had my Bose system for long,but i will be taking it out for the first time tomorrow..Mine is L1 Model 2 with a T4S Tone match mixer,i plug my voice into channel 1 & the Tyros into channel 2,to me it is a great sound,perhaps after tomorrows gig i may be able to tell you more & perhaps it may be beneficial to us to keep in contact.I live right down in SW Cornwall in the UK..Please let me know if you think it may be beneficial for us to exchange Email addresses & i will gladly give you my email address,bye for now..Gideon

Hi Thanks for answering my question, do you use just one L1 with the Tone match ?, what I would like to know does your set up sound better with or with out the Tone match. I am always looking at getting the best sound from my Tyros 5 so yes I am willing to exchange Email addresses.

Regards

Ken

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi Ken,

Thank you for joining the Bose Portable PA Community.  Welcome.

keyboardken posted:

At the moment I play a Tyros 5 through a single L1 compact, will I get a better sound if I use the T1 tone match or would I be better getting a stereo mixer to play the keyboard through 

Do you have any other audio sources in addition to your Tyros 5;  a microphone perhaps? A ToneMatch mixer can make a big difference for vocal microphones.  If that's not applicable to you:

Have you considered playing in stereo? You can get another L1 Compact. If you like playing in stereo, this will probably give you the most positive change for your next investment (as compared to getting a mixer).

How large are the places where you perform?

What kind of music are you playing?

What are people doing while you play?

ST

keyboardken
Contributor
  • 9
  • 21
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 17, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi I play for sequence dancing for up to about 70 people so I was wondering  if the T1 tone match would improve my sound due to the fact I would take two leads from the keyboard into the T1 instead of one direct to the L1 compact

Regards

Ken

keyboardken
Contributor
  • 9
  • 21
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 17, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Esparka posted:

Please update your experience attempting to achieve your sound using the L1 (compact) direct.   Keyboard has been the most challenging instrument for me thru the years. I have owned the Bose PAS since 2004, since the beginning.    I have a Yamaha Motif ES8.  I never could achieve a proper sound plugging direct.  Playing with a full electric band just did not cut it.  Our keyboard player used to play with the Grateful Dead, so you can imagine my need to solve the problem was all too real. A proper keyboard amp, run either direct or miked was necessary for us to ever get a proper bite which would be able to cut through the sound.  

Believe you me, I tried everything over the years that band was together. I have entries on this forum archives from when I was doing the work. 

Thanks in advance for your response,

ken

Hi 

I only play on my own mainly for sequence dancing, and due to the fact the keyboard is stereo I was wondering if the T1 Tone mach would enhance the sound or am I wasting my money.

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi Ken,

keyboardken posted:

Hi I play for sequence dancing for up to about 70 people so I was wondering  if the T1 tone match would improve my sound due to the fact I would take two leads from the keyboard into the T1 instead of one direct to the L1 compact

Regards

Ken

I looked at the Tyros 5 specifications. I found, there's a single output for Left+Right.

Tyros5 L+R Output 1

If you connect that output to Compact Channel 2, you should get the full output of the Tyros 5. You don't need the T1 to combine the Left and Right outputs for you.

ST

keyboardken
Contributor
  • 9
  • 21
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 17, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi Many Thanks for your response that will save me money

 

Regards

Ken

 

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Tyros 5 to L1 Compact - will I get better sound with a T1

Hi Ken,

Here is a little more detail.

Tyros5 L+R Output 2

Cheers!

ST