Notice

The Bose Community Forum was launched at a time when robust online support was not available for Bose customers. Over the past several years we have added new online service channels that provide a more interactive and complete digital experience. Additionally, we have enhanced the My Bose Account capabilities to deliver a more personalized and self-service experience. As a result, Bose has made the decision to close Community Forum for Consumer electronics products on September 30th. The Bose Pro portion of the Community will still operate as usual.


Please visit our support homepage to experience one of our many other digital service channels or simply use your Community log-in credentials to sign in to your My Bose Account to view your orders and view support options.


Thank you to all who have contributed and benefited from interacting in our Community. We look forward to continuing to serve you online.


Regards,
Bose Customer Service Team
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PMWIZARD
Participant
  • 0
  • 47
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 8, 2006

Using EWI with compact with no T1

Do any wind synth players use a PAS Compact without the T1 and are there any issues when doing that. I am looking at using the EWI with the yamaha VL-70, playing for small adult crowds standards music. Less than 100 people in the crowd. Will be using backing tracks and singing besides using the EWI. I haven't bought a compact yet but will be doing that after the 1st of the year.
8 REPLIES 8
MNunley
Participant
  • 0
  • 799
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 21, 2004

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

briefly... My little band in Morristown had a compact and my L1 mod 1 . We had an EWI player and it sounded pretty dang good thru the compact alone. And as we also used the camopact to listen to the mp3 songs to learn from ... The full-range tone was surprisingly good. My very limited experience - 100 folks and less, I think you'll be pleased. Sorry there aren't more Wind-C players to answer you . Such COOL toys !
PMWIZARD
Participant
  • 0
  • 47
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 8, 2006

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

Thanks Michael for the comment. I believe that I will be looking at getting the compact to use with the wind synth.

I agree there doesn't appear to be to many wind synth or reed players on this forum.
tbrayton
Member
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2013

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

I've used the L1 Compact with my EWI4000s for over a year now - couldn't be happier. I use it in an acoustic jazz context and it allows excellent coverage for me, the other guys in the band, and the audience. It produces smooth, natural sound and is capable of playing more than loud enough to balance me with the rest of the band (even when the drummer gets excited!) I use both a VL70 and the internal synth on the EWI4000s. The VL70 is for acoustic emulations. I use a brace wireless system for the internal synth and a MIDI Jet Pro for the wireless MIDI to keep cables to a minimum. My old system required me to make about 3 trips to/from the car to get everything. I can now grab everything in one trip. Very quick setup - just a couple of minutes, actually, and I'm ready to go. I've gotten nothing but compliments on the sound quality.
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1428
  • 48121
  • 3
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

Hi TBrayton,

Thank you for joining the Forum.

Thanks too for joining this particular discussion to share your experiences using your EWI4000s and Compact.

That was interesting to read about the midijet pro.

Too bad there isn't a 13-pin version (that I could see) for my virtual guitar system.


Here are some ? ? ? ? ? ? ? for you.


L1® Compact in the wiki
tbrayton
Member
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2013

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

ST,

I haven't seen anything about a 13 pin either. I'm using the older version (no USB.) Have had it for about 3 or 4 years. Standard MIDI cable connections. Thanks for the music notation symbols - I wondered where I'd put them!
PMWIZARD
Participant
  • 0
  • 47
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 8, 2006

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

Tray ton, do you also have the patchman sounds on the ewi and Yamaha sound generator? I have it loaded on both.and the patchman patches are very realistic.
tbrayton
Member
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 19, 2013

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

PMWizard,

Yes, I use both from Patchman. Matt does a good job on the programming, a significant improvement over the factory stuff. I have made a few tweaks to Matt's programming here and there for the VL70 Turbo - personal taste on attack speed, brightness, and effects. Also, I have adjusted the effects levels on some of the internal EWI synth patches; they are a bit generous on reverb and delay for my taste - but nothing big. Adjust as needed. I forgot to mention in my original post that I don't have a T1 and haven't felt a need with the EWI. It sounds great straight in but I could see someone perhaps wanting to add the increased flexibility of the T1 just for the EQ choices.
PMWIZARD
Participant
  • 0
  • 47
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 8, 2006

Re: Using EWI with compact with no T1

I agree about the T1 not being needed.In the process of putting together the backing tracks, then will be getting the compact.

Thanks for all the feedback on your setup and hoe well it works.