Nigel_Girling
Member
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 18, 2018

Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Hi everyone, very new L1 user (waiting for the delivery man to arrive with it from Andertons today). Ex-pro guitarist and singer playing blues in pubs and small clubs, mostly solo but occasionally with another singer/sax player or extra guitarist/singer. I need to run the Kemper into the T1 in stereo and still have space to run a wireless head mic and sometimes other player's mics. Anyone have experience of this and/or of using a Kemper with L1 Model ii? Cheers! 

 

8 REPLIES 8
ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Hi Nigel,

Thank you for joining the Bose Portable PA Community. I'm glad you joined us.

Congratulations on getting your L1® Model II and T1®.

There are at least two of us here who have the Kemper Profiling Amp.   Like you, I have the unpowered head (lunchbox model).

You can run the Kemper stereo outputs to T1® Channel 4/5.  Your L1® is a mono device (the Cylindrical Radiator® and Bass module function as a single powered loudspeaker), so you will not get stereo separation like you would if you had two of powered loudspeakers but you will get the sound of both channels mixed down to one.

That's why I run a single line out from Kemper Monitor Output. That's mono, and it's only one cable to run instead of two.  I connect that to T1® Channel 4.  It sounds great even in mono.  Try it.



This leaves T1® channels 1, 2, and 3 available for your wireless head mic and other performers' mics as necessary.

Does that help?

ST 

Nigel_Girling
Member
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 18, 2018

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

HI ST, that's great to hear. The L1 has just arrived (10 mins ago) from Andertons and I'm about to begin the unboxing ritual, so I'll try the mono into ch4 as you suggest. That's a great help and I'm looking forward to hearing it. I've been running my Kemper lunchbox via stereo XLR's into a Mackie 1012 powered mixer and 2 x Yamaha 15" bins. Your suggestion sounds much simpler (and lighter!) and gives me back two of my best mic leads too. I'll report back.... gigging with the new set-up in a couple of weeks. One new Bonamassa/Gary Moore/SRV/John Mayer set coming up! Cheers and thanks.

Esparka
Participant
  • 2
  • 61
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 25, 2005

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

When I have been in band situations, the 4-piece used 3 L1s for the whole band.  A packlite added 2 subs to the center L1 for a total of 4 subs. The kick drum enjoys the KickGate found in the Tonematch for a highly controllable range of kick drum goodness.  The Bass lines out to that same unit to extend his range.  

As for me, I would use two Fender Blues Jr. amps & I would mike one Blues Jr. to the right L1 & the other Blues Jr. to the Left L1.  This gave true stereo output for my lead/rhythm input.  I love performing with such a setup.  

Nigel_Girling
Member
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 18, 2018

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Got it all set-up last night and ran the Kemper from monitor out to Ch 4 as suggested. Works fine so far. Got the head-mic and Macbook pro working too through Ch 1 and 2.  I had to run the audio out from the Macbook through a TRS adaptor, as I couldn't work out how I'd get the USB to run audio for my backing tracks, as the book appears to suggest it will. Any ideas? I was amazed how quickly i was able to get a useable sound. I remember it took me several hours when I started using the Mackie 1012 

Questions remaining: Audio from USB and Can I do anything now with Ch5 as I'm using Ch4 in mono? Thanks people!

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Hi Nigel,

Nigel Girling posted:

Got it all set-up last night and ran the Kemper from monitor out to Ch 4 as suggested. Works fine so far.

Great news.

Got the head-mic and Macbook pro working too through Ch 1 and 2.  I had to run the audio out from the Macbook through a TRS adaptor, as I couldn't work out how I'd get the USB to run audio for my backing tracks, as the book appears to suggest it will. Any ideas?

Check out this video.

I was amazed how quickly i was able to get a useable sound. I remember it took me several hours when I started using the Mackie 1012

Christoph Kemper uses the Bose L1® Model IIs to demo the Kemper Profiling Amp at NAMM. There's got to be a reason.

Questions remaining: Audio from USB and Can I do anything now with Ch5 as I'm using Ch4 in mono? Thanks people!

If you run the Kemper to Channel 4, you can use Channel 5 for something else. What did you have in mind for Channel 5?

Please note: Channel 4/5 is one channel with two inputs to make it convenient if you have a stereo source. As you apply changes to Trim, Volume, Presets, Effects, Reverb this will apply to both inputs on Channel 4/5.

If you can't get the USB from PC working, then you'll probably want to connect analog output from the MacBook to T1® Channel 4/5 so you get both sides of the stereo output.

You may not be getting that now connecting it to T1®  Channel 2.

If you get the USB from PC working, you can route it to Channel 4/5 (as in the video).

You've got a lot of options.

Please tell me about all the input sources you have and maybe we can make things simpler.

ST

Nigel_Girling
Member
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 18, 2018

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Hi ST, thanks for the feedback and the video. I've got the Mac running via USB now and it sounds the biz. That frees up a channel now, so I'm cooking. I'm using ch4 for the Kemper and ch1 for a head mic with ch2 and 3 spare in readiness for guest singers and sax players. Guest guitarists will have to bring an amp (but then most of my guitar friends are Kemper luddites and have long arms and back-ache). cheers N

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

Hi Nigel,

Thanks for coming back to let us know you've got things working. That's terrific.

With the Kemper and an L1® we get a lot of sound per pound (especially compared to our buddies who are still hauling around amps).

I profiled my favourite amps and of course, there are no end of things to explore online. I kept a couple of hand-built amps around here - mainly for sentimental value, but there's no need to take them out anymore.

Hey, what are you running into your Kemper?

ST

Nigel_Girling
Member
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 18, 2018

Re: Using a Kemper Profiling Amp (unpowered) through an L1 Model II

I mostly use my two gorgeous Patrick James Eggle hand-built custom electrics (pics  in my profile) though I have various Strats, Tales, Les Paul, Flying V and Ibanez chaps, even a lovely Epi Casino. I tend toward Dumble and Fender profiles for chord work and fills but also use Marshall silver jubilee and Soldano lead profiles. I have a bunch of Michael Britt's profile packages too including the rather wonderful Colonial pack.  How about you?