singingsnapper
Member
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 14, 2020

Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

Hi,

I am doing outdoors concerts within may own property and already have 1 s1 pro.  I have ordered a second one and am using my MacBook pro connected to the S1 pro to play my backing tracks with a Sennheiser Dynamic Mic plugged in.  Will I be able to play through both speakers simultaneously without using the Connect app?  I will be using my iPhone to stream on Facebook...

I do have another phone, but I am not a Apple Music subscriber.  Do I have to be using the Connect app to use both speakers?  

13 REPLIES 13
Michael M
Collaborator
  • 25
  • 98
  • 0
Registered since

Aug 8, 2019

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

You won't have to use the Connect app (in fact, that's probably not preferable for your use). You can daisy chain two S1 Pros together.

S1 Pro Daisy Chain.jpg

Alternatively, you can connect your MacBook Pro to a mixer and run a cable to each S1 Pro.

singingsnapper
Member
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 14, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

Thank you.  i got the impression from looking at the Bose guidelines that I should use an 1/8" to 1/4" putting the 1/4 not the output and 1/8 into the Line in.  Will this work?  I have the second speaker coming tomorrow.  

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

Hi, singingsnapper,

Welcome to the Bose Portable PA Community.

Here is the full article that goes with the image Michael M gave you.

S1 Pro Daisy Chain Settings

singingsnapper posted:

Hi,

I am doing outdoors concerts within may own property and already have 1 s1 pro.  I have ordered a second one and am using my MacBook pro connected to the S1 pro to play my backing tracks with a Sennheiser Dynamic Mic plugged in.  Will I be able to play through both speakers simultaneously without using the Connect app?  

To get the Sennheiser Dynamic Mic AND the MacBook Pro to come out of both S1 Pro systems, keep your connections to the first S1 Pro as you are doing now.

Then follow the notes in this article S1 Pro Daisy Chain Settings to connect the first S1 Pro to the second S1 Pro.



I will be using my iPhone to stream on Facebook...

I do have another phone, but I am not a Apple Music subscriber.  Do I have to be using the Connect app to use both speakers?  

As Michael M said, you don't need the Bose Connect app for your application. It won't work to do what you want.

singingsnapper posted:

Thank you.  i got the impression from looking at the Bose guidelines that I should use an 1/8" to 1/4" putting the 1/4 not the output and 1/8 into the Line in.  Will this work?  

No, the only place to use a 1/8" cable is from the MacBook Pro to the first S1 Pro.

I have the second speaker coming tomorrow.  

That's exciting.

ST

singingsnapper
Member
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 14, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

So basically I should put a 1/4" into one of the 2 inputs from the output on the primary speaker?  Sorry if I'm being stupid!

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

Hi, singingsnapper.

singingsnapper posted:

So basically I should put a 1/4" into one of the 2 inputs from the output on the primary speaker?  Sorry if I'm being stupid!

Basically yes, and please follow the notes in this article S1 Pro Daisy Chain Settings for all the details.

ST

ChetDude
Participant
  • 239
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

If your tracks are recorded in stereo and you'd like to play them back into the 2 S1s as stereo, use a 3.5mm TRS Stereo Y-Adapter Cable such as this one and 2 XLR-XLR (or TRS 1/4") cables from the output of the computer to the inputs on the 2 S1 Pros.

TISINO 3.5mm to Dual XLR Stereo Cable 1/8 inch Mini Jack to 2 XLR Male Y Splitter Adapter Cord- 10 F...

(Try to get from someone other than Bezos though)...

singingsnapper
Member
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Apr 14, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

The two inputs are designed for 1/4" as well as XLR aren't they?

ST - Pro
Professional Legend
  • 1419
  • 48121
  • 2
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

Hi singingsnapper,

singingsnapper posted:

The two inputs are designed for 1/4" as well as XLR aren't they?

Yes, they are.  I prefer to use the 1/4 inch (6.3 mm) inputs for line-level sources like the MacBook Pro.  

If you want the microphone to be heard through both S1 Pro systems, you won't be able to run the tracks in stereo as Chet described above. Here's why.

  1. Stereo outputs from MacBook Pro to S1 Pro #1 and S1 Pro #2
    • MacBook Pro Left channel to S1 Pro #1
    • MacBook Pro Right channel to S1 Pro #2
    • Everything is fine so far
  2. Connect a microphone to S1 Pro #1
    • The microphone will be heard through only S1 Pro #1
  3. Daisy Chain S1 Pro #1 to S1 Pro #2
    • This sends all the sound from S1 Pro #1 to S1 Pro #2
    • You can hear the microphone through both S1 Pro systems
    • You also hear the MacBook Pro Left channel through both S1 Pro systems
    • You already have the MacBook Pro Right channel connected to S1 Pro #2
    • S1 Pro #2 will play both MacBook Pro Left and Right channels 


Since you can't maintain the stereo image if you want to hear the microphone through both S1 Pro systems, it's simpler to connect the MacBook Pro and microphone to S1 Pro #1 and then connect S1 Pro #1 to S1 Pro #2.

The other approach is to connect the microphone and the MacBook Pro to a stereo mixer.  Pan the microphone up the middle. Pan the MacBook Pro channels hard left and hard right.

Then connect the mixer Left output to one S1 Pro and the Right output to the other S1 Pro.

ST

ChetDude
Participant
  • 239
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Using two S1 pro with MacBook Pro

RATS....

As usual, it's best to have a nice, clean mixer around...