Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 680
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@troubador glad to “hear” you like it! Thanks to @Chet as well for his advice on the 1200B. I’ve found it to be a nice little addition to the S1s especially with its battery ability. Just another tool for the arsenal.

Yes, I too, look forward to when we can get back to performing for folks again on a more consistent basis. While we’ve been able to do a few safe outdoor gigs, I’m really missing our more regular coffee house and restaurant gigs. 

Highlighted
Member
  • 26
  • 113
  • 0
Registered since

May 22, 2019

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@troubador posted:

@CityFolk: I did! You were right!! I like it!!!

I pulled my 1002B out today and connected an XLR to ch.1 and a guitar patch cord (TS) to ch.2. Headphones to the phone jack.

Then I read the manual section on gain staging. That was the critical part of this trial!

When I was able to play through my headphones and get the volume I wanted ... I connected a TRS cable from the R-out to ch.1 on my S1. I set the S1 vol. between 7 and 8 o'clock, turned off EQ and reverb, and was in business. (Mixer pan set to hard-right. Minor tweaking on the mixer EQ.)

I found that the mixer leaves me a lot of headroom on the S1. I was in my living room so I didn't try increasing the volume of the S1. But since I was below the 9 o'clock mark of the S1 I know there's plenty of room to push the volume up if required. On the mixer the VU meter was occasionally going to the yellow.

I was pleasantly surprised, overall. Thank you for giving me the push to try this out. Very pleased with the result and now all I need is for our busking season to open. Unfortunately it looks like it won't be open until at least September.

Many thanks for the suggestion.

Cheers,

What did you do for FX on the mic? 
Did you resort to using the S1's reverb?

Highlighted
Advocate
  • 63
  • 228
  • 1
Registered since

Mar 29, 2010

Re: Volume level for Microphone

What did you do for FX on the mic? 
Did you resort to using the S1's reverb?

Prakash-bhai, I didn't use any reverb.

Since the mix was coming in to the S1, I turned the reverb off on the S1 (it would have put reverb on the mix - guitar and mic - which I didn't want). I did tweak the mixer EQ a wee bit to put some 'weight' on the mic. This was just an experiment and I was happy with the way it turned out. Like @CityFolk said, another tool in the arsenal for when it's needed.

When I am busking, I use the S1 directly. Now that I've got the Xvive kits (mic and guitar) and the 1002B mixer, it allows me to be totally wireless and battery operated. The 1002B mixer is for the occasional time that I might need more inputs than the S1 has. That is not very often, but it gives me the flexibility.

Ideally I'd love to take my T8S but then I need power. Besides, for busking, the T8S is probably overkill.

 

Highlighted
Member
  • 26
  • 113
  • 0
Registered since

May 22, 2019

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@troubador posted:

Prakash-bhai, I didn't use any reverb.

Since the mix was coming in to the S1, I turned the reverb off on the S1 (it would have put reverb on the mix - guitar and mic - which I didn't want). I did tweak the mixer EQ a wee bit to put some 'weight' on the mic. This was just an experiment and I was happy with the way it turned out. Like @CityFolk said, another tool in the arsenal for when it's needed.

When I am busking, I use the S1 directly. Now that I've got the Xvive kits (mic and guitar) and the 1002B mixer, it allows me to be totally wireless and battery operated. The 1002B mixer is for the occasional time that I might need more inputs than the S1 has. That is not very often, but it gives me the flexibility.

Ideally I'd love to take my T8S but then I need power. Besides, for busking, the T8S is probably overkill.

 

Thx for the clear layout bro ...

What's baffling me in your setup is ... The Behringer 1002B doesn't have any fx, so how do you manage without fx on your vocals? I would have thought fx are crucial for vocals. In fact, this is the only reason stopping me from picking up the Behringer 1002B.

I think you've got a terrific setup.

All hunky-dory withe Xvive's so far? I'd ordered mine some 5 months back from US where a friend of mine carried it to India for me. Shipping to Oman was too costly & prohibitive. I was to go down to Mumbai on 24th April, but due to the pandemic all flights are canceled ... so awaiting the opportunity to go down, try it & bring it back here with me to Oman. Hopefully when things open up ...

Highlighted
Member
  • 235
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

It sounds like our friend @Troubador went "quick and dirty" and mixed the vocal and guitar together into one channel of the S1 DRY.  Most of the time I also use little or no effects on my vocals.

Although I like a touch of doubling digital delay and reverb on my voice - not enough to really hear but just a touch when I use my QSC Touchmix 16.

The other method that @cityfolk and I often use with our 1002b mixer is to pan the vocals hard left in the mixer and pan the guitars hard right, run TWO separate TRS to XLR/TRS balanced cables from the left and right outputs of the mixer into the TWO channels of the S1 and put the appropriate amount of reverb on the vocals channel and guitars channel on the S1 (if we want).

Highlighted
Member
  • 26
  • 113
  • 0
Registered since

May 22, 2019

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@Chet posted:

It sounds like our friend @Troubador went "quick and dirty" and mixed the vocal and guitar together into one channel of the S1 DRY.  Most of the time I also use little or no effects on my vocals.

Although I like a touch of doubling digital delay and reverb on my voice - not enough to really hear but just a touch when I use my QSC Touchmix 16.

The other method that @cityfolk and I often use with our 1002b mixer is to pan the vocals hard left in the mixer and pan the guitars hard right, run TWO separate TRS to XLR/TRS balanced cables from the left and right outputs of the mixer into the TWO channels of the S1 and put the appropriate amount of reverb on the vocals channel and guitars channel on the S1 (if we want).

Perfect!! ... Just as I would do too. 

I'm sure @troubador has his reasons for going the way he did ... 

I'm amazed you don't use fx on your vocals or barely if at all. You must be a really good singer or singing in an environment that probably has hard surfaces & propagates natural reverb. ... or you just plain don't like it?  

I'm not a good singer (patchy at best) & using fx helps mask that out a bit

A) Are you happy with the Behringer Mixer? Coming from an extensive Yamaha background, I've used them on site about 8 to 10 times over the past 10 years & never really liked them. I find the pre-amps noisy (hiss).

Highlighted
Member
  • 235
  • 642
  • 0
Registered since

May 10, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

Perfect!! ... Just as I would do too. 

I'm sure @troubador has his reasons for going the way he did ... 

I'm amazed you don't use fx on your vocals or barely if at all. You must be a really good singer or singing in an environment that probably has hard surfaces & propagates natural reverb. ... or you just plain don't like it?  

I'm not a good singer (patchy at best) & using fx helps mask that out a bit

A) Are you happy with the Behringer Mixer? Coming from an extensive Yamaha background, I've used them on site about 8 to 10 times over the past 10 years & never really liked them. I find the pre-amps noisy (hiss).

One reason might have been only having ONE TRS to XLR/TRS cable available  🙂

I am a good singer and like to make sure that the efx I use don't color my voice at all although in recordings I add just enough reverb (and on certain songs a touch of "slap-back" delay) to help the vocal(s)/instruments blend in the final mix.

I'm very happy with THAT particular Behringer mixer - the 1002b.  It's sounded very clean where I've used it, no hiss at the volumes I use, is relatively transparent and the option of using batteries is a bonus. And it was very inexpensive.

Although my normal Go-To mixer when A/C power is available is the QSC Touchmix 16 that's almost the same size.

Advocate
  • 63
  • 228
  • 1
Registered since

Mar 29, 2010

Re: Volume level for Microphone

Thx for the clear layout bro ...

What's baffling me in your setup is ... The Behringer 1002B doesn't have any fx, so how do you manage without fx on your vocals? I would have thought fx are crucial for vocals. In fact, this is the only reason stopping me from picking up the Behringer 1002B.

I think you've got a terrific setup.

All hunky-dory withe Xvive's so far? I'd ordered mine some 5 months back from US where a friend of mine carried it to India for me. Shipping to Oman was too costly & prohibitive. I was to go down to Mumbai on 24th April, but due to the pandemic all flights are canceled ... so awaiting the opportunity to go down, try it & bring it back here with me to Oman. Hopefully when things open up ...

Correct. The 1002B has a 3 band EQ but no FX. This was more of an experiment to get the connections right. It was not for a performance. I was actually pleasantly surprised that without any FX, I was satisfied with my vocals. Of course, my standards aren't very high. Or it could be that my jumbo 12-string guitar was masking my voice!!

Thanks, I'm happy with what I have for what I do ... though nothing  is happening right now with this pandemic.

The Xvive's are working fine. I used them recently to record my (93 year old) Dad doing some pieces for his church and they performed as expected. My only gripe with them is that they don't auto-shutoff after a time of non-use. So if you forget to turn them off, the batteries will run down.

Yeah, shipping any equipment to that region has always been a pain. Good luck and I hope you can get them soon.

Cheers,

Highlighted
Advocate
  • 63
  • 228
  • 1
Registered since

Mar 29, 2010

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@Chet posted:

One reason might have been only having ONE TRS to XLR/TRS cable available  🙂

@Chet You hit the nail on the head! I went with ch.1 on the S1 only because I had a TRS cable right next to me and was too lazy to go look for another. Also, I had my T8S plugged into ch.2 of the S1 and was too lazy to remove that.

I figured it would be easier to pan hard right since it was just an experiment with hooking up the 1002B.

 

Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 680
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

With the S1s, 1200B, Xvive U2 and U3, I’m all battery and only 2 cables to the S1s. Talk about an easy and quick setup!