Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

One other point related to Chet’s comment is something called gain staging. It’s how you setup your initial volume settings before clipping/distortion which means your over driving the signal.

Rather than get into the details here, please refer to this section on the S1 Bose wiki website. While you’re there scroll up and down through that site as you’ll find a lot of great additional info on the various features and functions of the S1 beyond what is in the manual. 

 

Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

Ah, good catch Chet on the stereo vs mono switch. I missed that. 

Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@hypersonics sorry, one other thought since you are a new S1 user. Nothing you need to do immediately, but there have been some very important firmware updates that you should eventually install into your S1. Information on steps on how to do that are in that S1 wiki in referred to in my prior post. Get your mixer all setup first, then when you get a chance, do the firmware update. 

Highlighted
Professional Legend
  • 1412
  • 48121
  • 1
Registered since

May 11, 2020

Re: Volume level for Microphone

Hi again hypersonics.
Before you go to all the trouble of getting a mixer, please tell us how you will be using your S1 Pro.
In case I missed it in all the discussion above:
  • How many inputs do you need?
    • One microphone plus Bluetooth backing tracks or will there be more?
  • How large is the area you need to cover?
  • Have you tried connecting your Rode microphone to channel 1 with
    • The ToneMatch switch set to MIC
    • The volume turned all the way up
      • Can you sing loud enough to make the channel light turn red?
    • And when you do that do you still need the microphone to be louder?

Please note: When the channel light turns red, you have hit the maximum output of the S1 Pro. Putting a mixer in front of the S1 Pro does not change that.

SO

If you don't need more channels and you can hit red on the channel light, you probably don't need a mixer.

If you don't need more channels, and are open to suggestions try a microphone with higher sensitivity and preferably one with a hypercardioid or supercardioid polar pattern.

MicrophoneSensitivity mV/PascalPolar Pattern
Audix OM52.00Hypercardioid
Beyerdynamic M80 N2.50Hypercardioid
EV N/D767A     3.10Supercardioid
EV N/D86          2.40Supercardioid
EV N/D96        3.30Supercardioid
Rode M11.60Cardioid
Sennheiser e935    2.80Cardioid
Sennheiser e945    2.00Supercardioid
Shure Beta 58     2.60Supercardioid

ST







@hypersonics posted:

Hi All,

I'm from Australia and this is my very first post in this community.

I picked up a Bose S1 Pro two days back for my wife as we were looking for a starter PA system and, my wife is into vocal singing. The S1 Pro is now paired with a Rode M1 dynamic cardioid microphone on the first input.

My question is, for getting decent vocal sound how high the volume should be? Currently, we have set the volume knob to 70% and we hear good spacious vocals, but it's not loud. In contrast, when we play a backing track on the Bluetooth at a volume level of 50% for instance, the sound is louder than the vocals.

Is there a way to find out if the Rode M1 is picking the voice properly?

Thanks in advance.

Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

To underscore ST’s point, I have a Shure SM 58 Beta mic and have used it direct into the S1 with a good signal. This mic is also very feedback resistant.

Since we have an acoustic duo, 2 guitars/2 vocals and 2 S1s, we have the option to plug in individually to our own S1 if we want to have them near us or we can centralize all the control through a mixer that we position close to us for easy access to tweaking the mix and have the S1s out in front of us. Admittedly, our situation may be quite different from yours.

Which way is “better”? Like anything, it all depends on your circumstances and requirements. If you don’t have an immediate or anticipated need for more than just a single mic or the 3 inputs that the S1 offers, then using a mixer certainly may be overkill. However, your Rode mic is a bit anemic in its output. So getting a more powerful mic per the chart ST listed could be the easiest answer. Certainly makes your setup less complicated. ??

Highlighted
Member
  • 2
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

May 31, 2020

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@CityFolk posted:

@hypersonics sorry, one other thought since you are a new S1 user. Nothing you need to do immediately, but there have been some very important firmware updates that you should eventually install into your S1. Information on steps on how to do that are in that S1 wiki in referred to in my prior post. Get your mixer all setup first, then when you get a chance, do the firmware update. 

The first thing I did was to update the firmware. It took a while over the Bluetooth.

Highlighted
Member
  • 2
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

May 31, 2020

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@ST posted:
Hi again hypersonics.
Before you go to all the trouble of getting a mixer, please tell us how you will be using your S1 Pro.
In case I missed it in all the discussion above:
  • How many inputs do you need?
    • One microphone plus Bluetooth backing tracks or will there be more?
  • How large is the area you need to cover?
  • Have you tried connecting your Rode microphone to channel 1 with
    • The ToneMatch switch set to MIC
    • The volume turned all the way up
      • Can you sing loud enough to make the channel light turn red?
    • And when you do that do you still need the microphone to be louder?

Please note: When the channel light turns red, you have hit the maximum output of the S1 Pro. Putting a mixer in front of the S1 Pro does not change that.

SO

If you don't need more channels and you can hit red on the channel light, you probably don't need a mixer.

If you don't need more channels, and are open to suggestions try a microphone with higher sensitivity and preferably one with a hypercardioid or supercardioid polar pattern.

MicrophoneSensitivity mV/PascalPolar Pattern
 
   
Audix OM52.00Hypercardioid
Beyerdynamic M80 N2.50Hypercardioid
EV N/D767A     3.10Supercardioid
EV N/D86          2.40Supercardioid
EV N/D96        3.30Supercardioid
Rode M11.60Cardioid
Sennheiser e935    2.80Cardioid
Sennheiser e945    2.00Supercardioid
Shure Beta 58     2.60Supercardioid

ST

Thanks @ST for the list of microphones with their sensitivity. All I need currently is just one microphone channel along with a backing track (on Bluetooth).

Also, keeping the volume at 70% I'm not seeing the channel light hit red. I made a visit to the music store where I purchased the Bose S1 and I was advised not to get a mixer unless I have a few musical instruments to mix and use it. The technician mentioned that if the microphone is connected to the mixer and subsequently connected to Bose S1, a slight increase in gain on the mixer can simply kill the speaker.

Highlighted
Member
  • 2
  • 9
  • 0
Registered since

May 31, 2020

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@CityFolk posted:

 

Which way is “better”? Like anything, it all depends on your circumstances and requirements. If you don’t have an immediate or anticipated need for more than just a single mic or the 3 inputs that the S1 offers, then using a mixer certainly may be overkill. However, your Rode mic is a bit anemic in its output. So getting a more powerful mic per the chart ST listed could be the easiest answer. Certainly makes your setup less complicated. ??

I think I will refrain from the mixer for the time being The setup at this stage is mainly for practice sessions at home and possibly will look at better sensitivity microphones down the line.

Highlighted
Collaborator
  • 270
  • 681
  • 1
Registered since

Jun 4, 2018

Re: Volume level for Microphone

Sounds like a plan!

Highlighted
Advocate
  • 63
  • 228
  • 1
Registered since

Mar 29, 2010

Re: Volume level for Microphone

@CityFolk posted:

@troubador by all means give that 1002B a try. I think/hope you’ll like it  

 

@CityFolk: I did! You were right!! I like it!!!

I pulled my 1002B out today and connected an XLR to ch.1 and a guitar patch cord (TS) to ch.2. Headphones to the phone jack.

Then I read the manual section on gain staging. That was the critical part of this trial!

When I was able to play through my headphones and get the volume I wanted ... I connected a TRS cable from the R-out to ch.1 on my S1. I set the S1 vol. between 7 and 8 o'clock, turned off EQ and reverb, and was in business. (Mixer pan set to hard-right. Minor tweaking on the mixer EQ.)

I found that the mixer leaves me a lot of headroom on the S1. I was in my living room so I didn't try increasing the volume of the S1. But since I was below the 9 o'clock mark of the S1 I know there's plenty of room to push the volume up if required. On the mixer the VU meter was occasionally going to the yellow.

I was pleasantly surprised, overall. Thank you for giving me the push to try this out. Very pleased with the result and now all I need is for our busking season to open. Unfortunately it looks like it won't be open until at least September.

Many thanks for the suggestion.

Cheers,