Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 84
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2017

Dante card not reachable

Hi all,
I've got an issue with a Dante Card installed on an ESP00-II.
Through Dante Controller I configured its secondary port into Legacy Hardware, and changed its address into IP 192.168.0.90 / SN 255.255.255.0.
Now, even if rebooting the ESP, rebooting my PC (with address IP 192.168.0.254 / SN 255.255.255.0), disabling antivirus or firewall I've got this:
- the Dante Controller shows the ESP Dante card but without any field accessible
- All the fields show the "retrieving model information - please wait" message
- If I force an error, changing my PC IP address, the ESP Dante card field correctly turns red and a window says my PC is in a different subnet, showing the Dante card IP address 192.168.0.90, so I'm sure I changed its IP as I wanted (nothing I can say about SN).
- From a command prompt the Dante card doesn't respond to ping
Note that my PC is directly connected to the Primary port of the Dante card, and that I tried with another PC and the issue is the same.

Is there a way to factory restore the Dante Card, even in this situation?

Thanks to everybody for any suggestion.
16 REPLIES 16
Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 3
  • 1138
  • 0
Registered since

Feb 13, 2017

Re: Dante card not reachable

Moreno,
Is this a card fresh out of stock or an early model? The reason why I ask is that early prototype models had the primary and secondary labels reversed.

Kyle
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 84
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2017

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi Kyle,

it's a new card.
I tried to connect to both Primary or Secondary port, with no success.
I tried to connect with two different PCs, with no success.
Still visible on Dante Controller, but no way to configure it...

Thanks.
Highlighted
Friendly Fanatic
  • 10
  • 1056
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 6, 2008

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi Moreno,

Have you got multiple NICs active on your PC?

I suspect it may still be set to 'Obtain IP address automatically' - and has allocated itself a link-local address. If so it will be discovered - but a direct connection can't be made if there are multiple NICs active on your PC. Disable all other NICs (wireless, office etc.) so the only active NIC has the Dante connection and I suspect the rest of the info will populate in DC - and you'll see it has a link-local 169.254.x.x address..

Best regards
Rob
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 219
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 2, 2008

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi Moreno,

I'm pretty sure that it's an IP address issue.
1 - You can see it on Dante Controller, but can't make any changes
2 - It does not appear in the CS Designer Dante interface.

As you probably know. It's best to use a router with DHCP the first time out of the box.

I've attached a screenshot of Dante Controller.
- In this case the PC is static on 192.168.0 which is the CS default.
- TheEP22 has a static address on another Network address. It shows up, but you can't do anything with it. If the Dante device is on the wrong CS Designer, it won't show up at all.
- You may have a device show up in the list that is red. The is a similar issue with IP mis-match. (I can't remember which combination at the moment)


I've been trying to nail down a process for this. First, disable wifi and unused NIC's. This will cause problems until all the Dante devices are on the same network address as the computer.

Try this:
1) Disable wifi and be sure you have only one network card enabled.
2) Put your computer network card into DHCP mode.
3) Connect the ESP with the power off.
4) Power up the ESP/PM.
5) This should assign the computer an IP address on the Dante default range of 169.245.X.X.
6) Use Dante Controller to assign addresses to the same Project Address as in CS Designer.
7) Now use CS Designer to update firmware.

I hope this helps.

John Rogers
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 84
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2017

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi Rob,

I disabled all the other NICs, with no success.
As I already described, if I change my PC IP address, the ESP Dante card field on DC turns red, and it shows the Dante card IP address as 192.168.0.90. but if I put my PC on that subnet, still there's no way to configure the ESP Dante card.
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 219
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 2, 2008

Re: Dante card not reachable

Sorry, I just saw this in the first message.

You should not set your computer address to x.x.x.254, x.x.x.1 or x.x.x.0. These are used for routers, managed switches, and other system 'stuff.'

I don't know if this is an issue in this case.

John R
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 84
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2017

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi John,
I tried as you say but still I've got the problem.
Then, as attachment you can see what happens if I set my PC card in 192.168.1.1 (when I know I put the ESP Dante card in 192.168.0.90). As supposed, the Dante controller informs my PC is on a different subnet.
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 219
  • 0
Registered since

Oct 2, 2008

Re: Dante card not reachable

I'm pretty sure it's still an IP mis-match.

Use the 'Device Info' tab in the main window of DC (Dante Controller) rather than 'Device View.' This lets you see the network information for everything on the Dante network.

Use 'ipconfig' from a command line to confirm you computer settings.

From a command window you can use the command 'arp -a' to see everything on the subnet of the computer. (THANKS BRIAN KAM)

Here's what's in the screenshot:
1) My computer is static at 192.168.0.7
2) Two of the devices are static on 192.168.0.x and appear as expected.
3) The EP22 is set to DHCP, but shows up and shows the IP address based on the MAC address or something DC is doing with the default range.
4) The PM showing as red is set to a static address of 192.168.10.230 which is a different subnet. It doesn't show in DC or with 'arp'

Also, make sure you power cycle the device. the 'Reboot' button won't work with our stuff. I'm not sure if someone else covered this.

Does this help?

JR
Highlighted
Silent Starter
  • 0
  • 84
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 17, 2017

Re: Dante card not reachable

Hi all,

I really appreciate your help, thanks!

Anyhow, I can't find a way to proceed.

Here are my tests:

My PC network config is: STATIC IP 192.168.0.91 / SN 255.255.255.0
I open Dante Controller while the ESP00-II is off.
I connect my PC to the Primary Dante port of the ESP00-II, my PC has got this only NIC active.
I turn the ESP00-II on.
The ESP Dante Card appears on Dante controller as you can see in the attachment 'Network View'.
So it seems I'm connected...
But I double click on the Bose-ESP field and find what you can see in the attachment 'Device View'.
So, I don't know why, but the Dante card seems to have a SN 255.255.255.255 !! That's probably why I can't reach it through the ping command.
I try to change its IP configuration (Subnet or DHCP settings) but it's impossible, since while I'm changing the values, the card is disconnected (the Network view show only the device name of the Dante card, all the other fields become empty).

Then,
I reboot the ESP00-II.
After some seconds the Dante controller shows again all the infos about the Dante card as in the attachment 'Network view'.
if I click on the 'Reload Device Information' icon the Network view shows only the device name of the Dante card, all the other fields become empty.


Is there a way to hard reset the ESP Dante card?

Thanks.