cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
FCB_25
Enthusiast
  • 22
  • 122
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 1, 2017

Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Hi,
is it possible to tell a Bose Home Speaker 500 speaker „Alexa Play XY on my SoundTouch 300“?

Kind regards,
FCB_25

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Brandon_M
Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 5748
  • 297
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Author Accepted Answer selected by FCB_25

Hi FCB_25,

 

Thanks for the question!

 

Yes, you can use the built in Alexa to play music to the SoundTouch 300.  You would need to install the Bose Skill from the Alexa app on your mobile device.  Check out THESE instructions.

 

Best Regards,

Brandon - Community Support

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Brandon_M
Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 5748
  • 297
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Author Accepted Answer selected by FCB_25

Hi FCB_25,

 

Thanks for the question!

 

Yes, you can use the built in Alexa to play music to the SoundTouch 300.  You would need to install the Bose Skill from the Alexa app on your mobile device.  Check out THESE instructions.

 

Best Regards,

Brandon - Community Support

FCB_25
Enthusiast
  • 22
  • 122
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 1, 2017

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Cool thank you.
One question:
After installing the Bose skill does my phone always need to have the Alexa app open?
Tony_A
Community Manager - Retired
  • 0
  • 3053
  • 125
Registered since

Mar 15, 2018

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Hi FCB_25

 

Thank for the question!

 

Once you have the Alexa app setup with the Bose Skill and Bose (not for SoundTouch) Skills enabled and devices detected, you can leave the Alexa app closed on the mobile devices.  

 

Warm Regards,

Tony A

FCB_25
Enthusiast
  • 22
  • 122
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 1, 2017

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

So I need to enable both skills? The Bose skill and the Bose (not for SoundTouch) skill to make this work?
Tony_A
Community Manager - Retired
  • 0
  • 3053
  • 125
Registered since

Mar 15, 2018

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Hi FCB_25

 

That's correct.  Since both systems operate on different platforms, you would need both skills.  

 

Warm Regards,

Tony A 

FCB_25
Enthusiast
  • 22
  • 122
  • 0
Registered since

Jun 1, 2017

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

I got another question today:
Can I play the same song on Home Speaker 500 and Soundtouch 300 when is say Alexa play xy?
As I know it is not possible to group them together cause they are different operating systems but maybe Alexa can do some magic.

Oh one extra question:
If Airplay 2 is available can the Home Speaker 500 and Soundtouch 300 get connected with Airplay 2 without any latency?
Tony_A
Community Manager - Retired
  • 0
  • 3053
  • 125
Registered since

Mar 15, 2018

Re: Bose Home Speaker 500 + SoundTouch 300 Alexa

Hi FCB_25

 

Thanks for the post.  Alexa grouping isn't support through either the Bose Music or SoundTouch app.  Regarding the second question, we are unable to say yet as we are still waiting on news on Airplay 2.  

 

Warm Regards,

Tony A