Philipp
Friendly Fanatic
  • 9
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 23, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

@Tony_G & @Joel_D:

I think what really would help us as customers (and the community as a whole) - would be a message like:

 

"Our engineering team is aware of the issue. We are actively working on getting this fixed. We hope to get it done with the next firmware update. The ETA is 8 weeks."

 

Even if the time frame is two months... this is better then complete silence. Can you give us anything? Some insight into the process and the status?

Zeus1289
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 7
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 21, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

I just got off the phone with someone at Bose who says , they are aware of the problem with Alexa and the Soundbar 700. There should be an update for the firmware within a month or so. I’m crossing my fingers.
Gerco21
Audible Advocate
  • 1
  • 8
  • 1
Registered since

Nov 8, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Hi Tony, I have just googled this same issue of Alexa dropping out daily and having to reboot my soundbar 700 to have it work again and found this subject in the Bose support community and wanted to know if there has been a solution for this yet? I too have my Bose connected via Ethernet and are trying the work around of disconnecting my Ethernet and running via WiFi though I do not see this as a solution as I would rather have all my home networking via wired connection. I have the latest firmware installed and other than not connecting to my tv at random intervals have had no other issues.
Cheers
Scott
Philipp
Friendly Fanatic
  • 9
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 23, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

@Gerco21 : unfortunatley I can report, that switching to Wifi won't bring you any solution. It seems to take longer (around 36h vs 24h) till the soundbar needs a restart. But you need the restart nevertheless.

 

What I find astonishing is that there has been still no official written communication regarding a firmware update from Bose in this thread. Just a vague "I just heard by a Bose employee...." from a user.

 

Could we get a written update on this issue?

Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 3221
  • 127
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Hello All,

 

Thank you for all the posts.

 

We're currently investigating this issue, and as soon as we have any updates, we'll let the community know.

 

Kind Regards,

Joel - Community Support

Highlighted
duncan1873
Friendly Fanatic
  • 6
  • 17
  • 0
Registered since

May 9, 2017

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Hi Sik,

I had my 700 wired to router & Alexa became unresponsive. I then went to wireless & I’ve been issue free for weeks.

Cheers,

Duncan
Sikwidityo
Friendly Fanatic
  • 9
  • 40
  • 2
Registered since

Sep 22, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Duncan,

 

That's great news during this difficult time with the hard wire issue.

 

Thanks for the update.

 

Sik

Arno_Mrs
Quiet Contributor
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 28, 2019

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Hello,
i confirm that i have the same issue Alexa stop to work, randomly, sometimes is ten minutes after a reboot or few hours.

i try to switch on wifi vs LAN.

Bose must release a new firmwire update urgently to fix it.

I buy Bose for premium products, i have qc35, sport headphones... very good.

But SB700 899€ for this issue since last year, isnt acceptable...

I hope that bose can help us quickly.


Moderator - Retired
  • 0
  • 5748
  • 294
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

Hi Arno_Mrs,

 

Thanks for the post, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your Soundbar 700.

 

Is your soundbar connected via ethernet or Wi-Fi most of the time?

 

How often does Alexa stop working?

 

Best Regards,

Brandon - Community Support

Philipp
Friendly Fanatic
  • 9
  • 13
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 23, 2018

Re: Second evening owning a Bose Soundbar 700 and it needed a reboot already

@Brandon_M : Please give the following to your engineering department.

  • At first switching from ethernet to wifi did not bring any relieve.
  • After some troubleshooting I found this:
    • The ethernet cable has to be physically removed from the soundbar. After that it works.
    • It is not enough to unplug the ethernet cable on your router and leave the other end in the soundbar.
    • The ethernet plug on the soundbar has to be empty.
    • Did not have to restart for days.

 

So it seams that it has something to do with a ethernet cable being plugged into the soundbar.