J.ARANA
Participant
Registered since

May 2, 2020

Soundbar 700 has serious software issues

Hi, I just bought a soundbar 700 , a bass module 700 and virtualy invisible speaker 300 . I have never seen so many bugs in a single product since Windows 98. Just to clarify my background a bit: I am a maritime engineer specialized in merchant ships.I am surrounded by computers and technology all day long, part of my job on the ships is to troubleshoot faults, sometimes in machinery plc software, and other times in ship operation computers.

Things that I was facing:
1. I had to perform a factory reset immediately after plugging in the soundbar because for a reason the app refused to discover the soundbar.
2. After the network setup the soundbar decided to update itself. Which is fine, the app was showing that the bar updates, but it gives too little feedback during the update such as: download completion in % and installation finished in %. It just leaves you wondering IF the whole thing is frozen.
3. The 700 bass module and 300 virtual invisible speakers are very quiet. I tried almost everything written on the forum, including resetting the soundbar and removing it from my Bose account. Open a new bose account, check that they are connected on the same wifi network and nothing worked. When I tried to add the soundbar again, the app refused to register or activate it.
4. I tried to connect the bass module directly with a stereo cable to the sound bar. He did nothing ... (best description I can imagine). In other words, I can't connect the $ 800 bass and $ 300 speakers to my $ 800 bar, that is, my $ 2,000 investment for my living room is not yet operational.