cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
HenrikL
Collaborator
  • 9
  • 12
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2015

TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

Hi,

It seems TuneIn are have some "licence issues" in the UK and therefor we can not play any radio stations from outside the UK. As a non UK national, I love listing to radio stations from my scandinavian home country. Is there any way or any plan to implement another radio "tuner" in the BOSE Smartspeaker app. I have tried myTune in a browser and that still plays the radio stations, as do the radio stations own app.

 

Kind regards,

 

Henrik

18 REPLIES 18
Martyn91674
Participant
  • 0
  • 5
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 10, 2020

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

Hi I'm haveing the same problem want to listen to polish radio but can't anymore can bose install another radio player as this one is now not fit for purpose 

Hector_B
Moderator

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

Hello HenrikL and Martyn91674, 

 

Thank you both for posting and providing us with feedback on this issue you are having. 

 

We are aware of an ongoing issue impacting TuneIn content for UK-based customers. We are actively investigating this and will provide an update as soon as possible.  We appreciate your patience and apologize for any impact on your experience. 

 

Keep an eye on the Community for the latest updates on this. 

Feel more. Do more. Be more.
Come check out my profile here. New to the community? Check out the Getting Started board.
Help others find answers to your questions by clicking on 'Accept as Solution' at the bottom of a reply.
If you see a post you like, make sure to give it a thumbs up!
Howieavić
Contributor
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 16, 2020

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

Hi I discovered the same this weekend, without the foreign stations I guess the sound touches I have are pretty useless 

dutchgunner
Contributor
  • 6
  • 15
  • 0
Registered since

Nov 6, 2019

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

I will give you the answer.

 

Sony has forced some sort of geo blockade of tune-in stations so you cannot listen to stations outside of your country. not sure why they did this.

ChangetoSonos
Contributor
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 23, 2020

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

I agree this is appalling that you can not pick up french / Flemish stations in the UK i purchased Bose for this reason and in France this worked very well

Bose please sort this  out otherwise I want my money back

ChangetoSonos
Contributor
  • 3
  • 2
  • 0
Registered since

Sep 23, 2020

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

I recall when in France we could not pick up Smooth Radio and the solution is to search for the URL of the radio station you are looking for and copy this into the Sound app settings and once playing add to favourites or preset works well!

HenrikL
Collaborator
  • 9
  • 12
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2015

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

I get the geo-fencing issues due licences agreement (or not). I understand this may not be BOSE's problem, but perhaps if other Internet "tuners" could be enabled on the speakers, it would help the issue?  I am aware that some "tuners" like MyTuner and vTuner are still working with foreign (to the UK) radio stations.  

Smudge27
Contributor
  • 11
  • 4
  • 0
Registered since

Jan 18, 2017

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

When is this issue going to get resolved, no stations listed when looking at cities abroad from U.K.

 

HenrikL
Collaborator
  • 9
  • 12
  • 0
Registered since

Dec 7, 2015

Re: TuneIn won't play foreign radio stations in UK

Any update yet? Seem myRadio is working with foreign (non UK) radio stations. Can you not somehow implement that instead of/as well as TuneIn?