ManuelP
Collaborator
Registered since

May 2, 2017

Bose SoundTouch 520 drops Tunein signal too often

Hi Bose, 

I have a Bose SoundTouch 520 in my living room and other SoundTouch speakers in the remaining rooms of the house. My Sountouch 520 is connected through a LAN cable with priority set up with my Linksys 3200ACM router. The problem is that the signal drops out, sometimes for a few seconds sometimes a minute. Sometimes when we use some other internet application in to hone, such as a call through WhatsApp, the signal could drop. 

Im not a network expert, but I have an high end router and most of my devices are connected by LAN cables (cat5e) and we have a 200Mbs connection so it could not be our bandwidth. We all know that software of Bose ST is not perfect, as signal drops randomly everywhere, also on my WiFi ST10/20’s. 

Is there anything we can do to improve this, or we have to wait a few more months/years before you update this through software with the potential that other stuff will not work after that? I still want to buy a sound bar for the second tv but I’m not sure if I want to keep investing in Bose for home audio. I have it for around three years now, and the software doesn’t seem to catch up with competion. It’s sad as I’m one of the biggest bose fans. Thanks. 

6 REPLIES 6
Brandon_M
Moderator - Retired
Registered since

Dec 5, 2016

Re: Bose SoundTouch 520 drops Tunein signal too often

Hi ManuelP,

Thank you for the post.

Your SoundTouch systems will drop out even when connected via ethernet?  I just want to make sure I'm understanding the issue fully.

Do you have any QoS settings enabled on the router?  Can we try disabling WMM in the router settings and test the speakers?  I wonder if other devices are getting priority over the SoundTouch systems.

Do other sources aside from TuneIn drop out?  Have you tried multiple stations on TuneIn to see where the issue lies?

Let us know so we can get this resolved for you.

Best Regards,